Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Midlands Tour

September 22, 2007

Lapthorne takes Midlands win

Footscray Cycling Club and the Cyclist Club of Victoria hosted the 66th Midlands Tour held at Meredith on Saturday. The 133 kilometre race was held over a tough circuit from Meredith through Sheoaks, Maude and through the tough Stieglitz National Park, returning to the finish in the Meredith town centre.

The race, run since 1935, has been won by some of the greats of Australian cycling. Russell Mockridge won the race 50 years ago in 1957, five time Sun Tour winner Barry Waddell won in 1966 and Footscray Cycling Club great David Allan won the race a record five times from 1980 to 1985.

This year's Midlands Tour was another great race and a hard fought event. Darren Lapthorne (Drapac-Porsche) showed why he is the current Australian Road Champion with a convincing win over Leigh Howard (Victorian Institute of Sport). Howard, a former World Junior Track Champion, showed his class and is a force to be reckoned with in the near future.

In third place was Bendigo rider David Pell (Savings and Loans), in fourth placing on the comeback trail after a long layoff from the bike was Tom Leaper (Bicycle Superstore), whilst in fifth place another VIS member Nicholas Walker, followed in by Tom Southam, Daniel Braunsteins, newcomer to the VIS Jonathan Lovelock, Mitchell Docker and Trent Stevenson.

In the King of the Mountains category David Pell won comfortably from Leigh Howard and Dylan Newell.

As the Midlands Tour was also part of the Cyclesport Victoria's teams series the VIS took the honours, the riders coached and managed by Dave Sanders consisted of team leader, Patrick Shaw, Leigh Howard Glenn O'Shea, Nicholas Walker and Jonathan Lovelock.


1 Darren Lapthorne (Drapac-Porsche)
2 Leigh Howard (Victorian Institute of Sport)
3 David Pell (Savings and Loans)
4 Tom Leaper (Bicycle Superstore)
5 Nicholas Walker (Victorian Institute if Sport)
6 Tom Southam
7 Daniel Braunsteins
8 Jonathan Lovelock
9 Mitchell Docker
10 Trent Stevenson