Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Criteriums - Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Stalder storms to another win

By Mal Sawford

Suffering in the A Grade bunch.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Geoff Parker leads B Grade,
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
C Grade lined out on the hill.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
D Grade cruise over the summit.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

CCCC returned to the fantastic Sandown raceway circuit - a 3.2 km motor racing circuit featuring 10 turns and a long drag up the back straight. The circuit not only tests riders handling skills, but generally rewards strong and aggressive riders.

The A Grade race saw a number of early attacks reeled in, before a group containing Guy Green, Roy Clark (Croydon Cycleworks), Anthony Smith (Promains/Richmond Cyclery), Peter Barnett (CCCC/SHM Elite), Sean Finning (South, Nick Paleck (Richmond Cyclery) and Scott Liston escaped with around twenty minutes remaining.

Andrew Stalder (Promains/Richmond Cyclery) and Nick Walker (VIS) bridged the 20 second gap a couple of laps later, followed by Dylan Boone, Danny Kah (CCCC/SHM Elite), Wade Wallace (02 Networks) and James Mowatt. A charge on the final couple of laps by Tom Leaper (Pro-Motion), Michael Gallagher (VIS) and Vaughan Bowman (CCCC/SHM Elite) made contact on the final climb, but none of the late arrivals would have an impact on the finish.

Boone led the sprint out a long way from the line, but couldn't stop Stalder taking his third win in succession, and fourth from four starts this season. Following Boone over the line were Smith, Wallace, Mowatt and Green.

No one was strong enough to escape the B Grade race for more than a few seconds in the second half of the B Grade race, with virtually all of the 51 rider field arriving at the final corner together. Jason Spencer (Monash Uni) jumped early and was never headed, with Haydn Green (Hampton Cycles) crossing two lengths behind. John Hollingworth and Ray Turner (Bianchi) were next home ahead of Melbourne to Warrnambool D Grade winner Darren Cathie. Michelle Murrell looked comfortable in taking out the women's division.

Glen Cortis (Hampton Cycles) led a break in C Grade with 20 minutes remaining, before riding away from John Pritchard (Bicycle Superstore), Brian Delvin, Michael Milewski, Wayne Watkins and Phil Bertolus.

Cortis time trialed to an impressive win, with Chris Broeren taking the bunch sprint ahead of Bertolus and Greg Walker (Bicycle Superstore).

D Grade, like B Grade, also finished with a bunch sprint, although the field had been whittled down to around twenty five riders. Debutant Marco Marinelli (Brown Cow) was a clear winner in the sprint, ahead of youngsters Nathaniel Collard and Rick Sanders, with Rob Allen fourth. Den Chambers (Bayside Bandidos) outsprinted Zoe Bloore to take the women's prize.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade
1 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Wade Wallace (St Kilda)                   
5 James Mowatt (MTBA)                       
6 Guy Green (Blackburn)                     
B Grade

1 Jason Spencer (Blackburn)                 
2 Haydn Green (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 John Hollingworth (Carnegie Caulfield)    
4 Ray Turner (Footscray)                    
5 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)        


1 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)         
C Grade

1 Glen Cortis (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Chris Broeren (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Phil Bertolus (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Greg Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)          
D Grade
1 Marco Marinelli (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Nathaniel Collard (Carnegie Caulfield)    
3 Rick Sanders (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Rob Allen (Carnegie Caulfield)            


1 Deb Chambers (Carnegie Caulfield)     
Racing Clinic
1 Grace Tennant (Hawthorn)                  
2 Jimmy Tennant (Hawthorn)                       

Results 2007