Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Port Kembla Criterium - Sunday, October 28, 2007

Donnelly Triumphs

Racing again returned to the Port Kembla coastline for a criterium race up and down M&M beach. Riders were met at the start with unusual fog conditions with visibility limited. By the time entries had been taken the fog had cleared and the sun was quickly heating things up.

Aaron Donnelly showed no fatigue after racing the Illawarra Track Open the night before and quickly launched a solo attack after only a few laps. Despite being chased the whole way, and even joined by Scott Law for a few laps, he easily held off the bunch for a convincing and well deserved win in the A grade event. Behind the bunch was racing for second, and multiple Australian Junior Road, Criterium and Time Trial champion Scott Law showed his speed in taking an easy second. Tim Morris, in his first race back in A-Grade after breaking his femur, held on for third.

In the B grade race Tony Pulo showed his experience and cunning as he chose exactly the right time to unless his powerful sprint to the line. The race was blown apart in the closing stages with riders strewn across the cause in various stages of fatigue, but it was Pulo who had saved enough to taker the win from Rob Heinandez and Mick O'Neil.

In the Combined C and D grades the continued accelerations out of the turns lead to the race being split apart. In the closing laps there were only three riders left in contention as Nathan Cullan, Geoff Pollard and Dave Morris eyed each other over. Morris took the final turn first and held Cullan and Pollard off until the line.


A Grade - Time plus 3 laps

1 Aaron Donnelly (Illawarra)     25.00
2 Scott Law (Illawarra)               
3 Tim Morris (Illawarra)              
4 John Hardwick (Illawarra)           
5 Michael Lanyon (Illawarra)          
6 Aaron Terechovs (Illawarra)         
7 Ryan Hennessy (Illawarra)           
DNF Abe Martin (Illawarra)            
DNF Jackson Law (Illawarra)           
B Grade - Time plus 3 laps

1 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)          20.00
2 Robert Heinandez (Illawarra)        
3 Michael O'Neill (Illawarra)         
4 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)              
5 Vincent Morrissey (Illawarra)       
6 Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)      
7 Brad Martin (St George)             
8 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)        
9 Paul Kaye (Illawarra)               
10 Philip Jones (Illawarra)           
11 John Danzo (Illawarra)             
12 Hannah Lee (Illawarra)             
13 Lou Caruana (UnKnown)              
C Grade - Time plus 3 laps

1 David Morris (Illawarra)       20.00
2 Nathan Cullan (Illawarra)           
3 Geoff Pollard (Illawarra)           
4 Jacob Shannon (Illawarra)           
5 Andrew Shannon (Illawarra)          
DNF Leigh Jackson (Illawarra)         
D Grade - Time plus 3 laps

1 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)    20.00
2 Nicole Joyce (Illawarra)            
3 Juan Ruiz (Illawarra)               
4 Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)     

Results 2007