Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums - Sunday, October 28, 2007

Stalder takes steady victory

The successful A Grade break.
Photo ©: Ann Johnstone
(Click for larger image)
The huge B Grade field.
Photo ©: Ann Johnstone
(Click for larger image)
Oliver Le Grice leads Gerard Donnelly
Photo ©: Ann Johnstone
(Click for larger image)

Despite the forecast of morning rain, and some dark clouds around, no rain fell at Glenvale, but the extremely strong and gusting northerly wind made for a tough day all round. Kudos to Michael Gallagher (VIS) and Tom Leaper (Pro-Motion) for taking to the start line after great rides in 'the Warrny'; both finished in the top 20 of the 299 kilometre race. The A Grade race was decided pretty early on, when a strong break of six opened a lead: Andrew Stalder and Anthony Smith (Promains), Dale Woonton (Hillman), Dylan Boone (Inexa), David Sturt (Pro-Motion) and Nick Mitchell (Bike Force).

A chase group looked like making contact until Stefan Kirsch (Croydon Cycleworks) clipped his pedal in turn two and hit the deck very hard, and the ease in momentum as the bunch slowed to avoid the badly injured rider put paid to any further attempts to reach the leaders. The six went on to lap the field with 10 minutes remaining, and kept things together until the last corner, when Stalder opened the sprint and powered to his third win of the four week old season, ahead of Boone and Woonton.

In B Grade, early attacks were all negated by the big bunch, until a last gasp effort at two to go by Julian Paynter (6am-ers). He was chased by Rick Jones and Nick Conway, who made contact, and the trio led into the final lap by a handful of seconds. Conway opened a small gap before the final corner, and powered home to a clear win, but the bunch was right on the tail of Paynter and Jones. Only Paynter had the strength to hold on, and took second, with the bunch led home by his team mates Richard Read and Cameron Hunter. Peta Mullens (VIS) took line honours in the women's division.

Billy Rebakis (Melbourne Uni) left the C Grade field for dead with a powerful solo break away - although, as with the week before, most of the bunch was blissfully ignorant of his escape. He took the win by well over half a lap, with Ashley Duncan and Allan Beveridge taking the next two places with a break of their own. Phil Bertolus took the bunch sprint for fourth.

D Grade saw the only bunch sprint of the day, with Nick Murray dominating, overhauling Jason Roberts who had started the charge at the bell. Shannon O'Brien (CBD Cycles) and Jason Meyer fell just short of catching Roberts, while Deb Chambers (Bayside Bandidos) took the top women's prize.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Ann Johnstone


A Grade

1 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Nick Mitchell (Northcote)               
6 David Sturt (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade

1 Nick Conway (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Julian Paynter (Hawthorn)               
3 Richard Read (Blackburn)                
4 Cameron Hunter (Blackburn)              
5 Craig Porter (Carnegie Caulfield)       


1 Peta Mullens (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Shannon McCurley (Latrobe City)         
3 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)           
C Grade

1 Billy Rebakis (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Ashley Duncan (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Alan Beveridge (Latrobe City)           
4 Phil Bertolus (Carnegie Caulfield)      
D Grade

1 Nick Murray (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Jason Roberts (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Shannon O'Brien (Carnegie Caulfield)    
4 Jamie Meyer (Carnegie Caulfield)        


1 Deb Chambers (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)      
Racing Clinic

1 Eric Sheppard (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Matt Doggett (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Will Allen (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Michael Hale (Carnegie Caulfield)       

Results 2007