Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent Criteriums - Sunday, October 21, 2007

Stalder takes A Grade win

Daniel Braunsteins leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
B Grade swoop over corner one.
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
The winning B Grade break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Shane Perkins is more used
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

With the temperature climbing quickly past the 30 degree mark, and the northerly wind picking up, riders at Glenvale Crescent were in for a tough day. Whether it would be as tough a day as the one that faced the 14,000 or so tackling the 'Round the Bay in a Day' mass participation ride is difficult to say - would you rather race flat out for an hour or so, or spend eight hours minimum riding tempo in the full heat of the day?

A Grade followed a now familiar pattern. After a 20 minute opening salvo with a number of unsuccessful breaks, gaps began to open with riders in the middle of the 60 rider pack letting wheels go and hoping someone else would feel like keeping things together. Around 20 riders were on the right side of the split, and as expected, virtually all of the strongest riders made the move.

Attacks came thick and fast out of the lead group, with Murray Spink (Giant), Andrew Stalder (Promains) and Damien Turner (Cycle City Ballarat) opening a handy lead. Four riders gave chase, Daniel Braunsteins (Drapac Porsche), Peter Barnett (CCCC/SHM Elite), Dale Woonton and the winner of Saturday's Herald Sun Tour support race, Nick Walker (VIS).

What was left of the chase group didn't have the horsepower to get back on terms, indeed the leading seven riders managed to lap the remnants of the chaser group as they sprinted for the win. Stalder took his second win of the season ahead of Spink and Turner, while Barnett was the unlucky rider to miss out on a pay day from the second group.

An early break also paid off in B Grade, with Under 19 up and comer Brent Tomlinson (Hampton Cycles) taking an impressive win to qualify for the A Grade field next week. Tomlinson went clear initially with Kevin Murphy (6am'ers), Gavin Cook and Paul Kelly (Datacom/Burnley Finance) just past the half way mark.

Alister Douglas and Russell Newnham bridged to the leaders ten minutes later, but the effort proved too much for Douglas, and he and Cook lost contact soon after his arrival. Murphy was next to pop, leaving the four survivors some 40 seconds clear at the start of the final three laps. Kelly and Newnham mysteriously lost contact on the final lap and were overhauled by the bunch, but Tomlinson wasn't scared of promotion and sprinted to a convincing win. Leading the bunch home by a country mile was AIS track sprinter Shane Perkins, who surprised no one with his pure speed, but did surprise himself with his unexpected endurance. Definitely A Grade for Shane from here on in!

Another of the youngsters from Hampton Cycles, Scott Berry, attacked at the bell to try take fifth place, but despite being overhauled by Perkins was rewarded for his aggression with an unexpected fourth place courtesy of the two 'retirements', finishing just ahead of Robert Koroknai.

David Ross won C Grade with an impressive solo break, showing enough strength for an immediate promotion to B Grade next time round. The bunch made little impression on his lead, and had to settle for sprinting for second place. David Kefaloukos thought he had the sprint won, but eased too soon, allowing Evan Rolton to pinch second place with a nice throw at the line. Nat Dunn took the final place, while Sarah Riley took the women's cash.

Attacking juniors kept the pace high in the D Grade race, with Nathan Corrigan and Luke Parker (The Freedom Machine) both trying their luck with solo efforts. Older and wiser heads prevailed however, and virtually the full field were in contention at the bell.

Matt Garrett produced the fastest burst to take the win, ahead of Andrew Bismann, Daryl Snibson and Daryl Beovich, while Heidi Buntrock (Quick Cycle Coaching) proved the fastest of the women, holding off Andrea Bishop and Melissa Nicholls in the dash to the line.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade
1 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)                        
2 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders)                                
3 Damien Turner (Ballarat)                                  
4 Daniel Braunsteins (Hawthorn)                             
5 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
6 Nick Walker (Brunswick)                                   
B Grade
1 Brent Tomlinson (Carnegie Caulfield)                      
2 David McGrath (Hawthorn)                                  
3 Shane Perkins (Carnegie Caulfield)                        
4 Scott Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)                          
5 Robert Koroknai (Carnegie Caulfield)                      
1 Clare Vlahopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)                    
2 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)                             
C Grade
1 David Ross (Carnegie Caulfield)                           
2 Evan Rolton (St Kilda)                                    
3 David Kefaloukos (Carnegie Caulfield)                     
4 Nat Dunn (Carnegie Caulfield)                             
1 Sarah Riley (MTBA)                                        
D Grade
1 Matt Garrett (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
2 Andrew Bismann (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
3 Daryl Snibson (Blackburn)                                 
4 Daryl Beovic (St Kilda)                                   
1 Heidi Buntrock (Blackburn)                                
2 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)                        
3 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield)                     
Racing Clinic
1 Thomas Doherty (Carnegie Caulfield)                       
2 Michael Hale (Carnegie Caulfield)                         
3 Jack Hickey (Carnegie Caulfield)                          
4 Charlie Sturt (Carnegie Caulfield)                            

Results 2007