Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Handicap Road Race, Barmera - Sunday, October 14, 2007

Lawton on song

Riverland Cycling Club members were greeted with perfect conditions for their race held at Barmera on Sunday. There was little wind to speak of and the heat radiating from the morning sun was just outstanding.

Nominations for the handicap event were above average, 12 entering the race, five individuals forced to begin the race as a solo attack. Megan Taylor was off-limit, two minutes ahead of Gordon Lawton. Ruth Strout and Simon Woods followed 16 minutes later ahead of Peter Weston, Angelo Ylia and our now 'visiting' member Lara MacKirdy. Claire Treilibs and new recruit John Jeffrey may have only been one minute behind the trio but had a four and a half minute lead on the first of the three remaining riders. Chopping Block rider Lee Stevens had one and a half minutes to recover from Mick Gray but had a further 24.5 minutes to make up on Taylor. Stevens did however have a two minute advantage over the clubs newest powerhouse, Matthew Benson.

The closing stages of lap one saw Taylor retire early, leaving Lawton keep the pressure on the remaining field that managed to rein in six minutes. Now working as a formidable force Weston, Ylia, Treilibs and Jeffrey pulled together to make an attack on the leaders and improve their own advantage over. Gray and Stevens paired up to keep lone scratchman Benson at bay. Benson's determination was clearly on show, after taking off from the line like a man possessed his drive continued into the final lap.

The final straight saw Lawton push it home to claim line honours over Gray who managed to recover 22 minutes, 10 seconds of his original handicap. Woods took out third place ahead of Treilibs, Strout and Jeffrey who were being pursued heavily from the field behind. Weston claimed seventh place ahead of Stevens, Ylia and Benson; who recorded the fastest time of 1:05.48.

It was an exciting end to a tremendous effort from all the riders who took part. A mere one minute separated the first eight riders with Benson rounding out the top ten just under two minutes behind race winner Gordon Lawton.


1 Gordon Lawton                                       
2 Mick Gray                                           
3 Simon Woods                                         
4 Claire Treilibs                                     
5 Ruth Strout                                         
6 John Jeffrey                                        
7 Peter Weston                                        
8 Lee Stevens                                         
9 Angelo Ylia                                         
10 Matthew Benson                                     
11 Lara MacKirdy                                      
DNF Megan Taylor

Results 2007