Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel District Cycling Club

Port Kennedy Cycles Handicap Series, Karnup Road Serpentine - Saturday June 16, 2007

Russell Fryer drove hard to take honours in Race 3 of the Port Kennedy Cycles Handicap Series. The field contained a good mixture of talents including time trial specialist Mark Roberts, Joe Cox and Race 2 winner Brett Clapham.

The handicap race over 45 kilometres saw a large group which included Tony Van Merwyk, Alan Taylor, Ruth Haslam, Phil Edwards and Sheona Clark off at the 12 minute mark. Further down the list Rob Davis, Guy Pathe and Richard Le Tessier were away at the nine minute mark while eventual winner Russell Fryer was off in company with Alan Clark and Clapham at the six min mark.

With 27 starters underway, several of the early markers were already feeling the pinch and not at all comfortable in the breezy conditions as they slowly drifted back in the field.

Making in roads on the early markers were the likes of Bob Addy and Geoff Marshall with Mark Roberts joining the pair and gaining ground rapidly but eventually falling short of the leading riders.

On the final lap a group of 10 riders had come together and ultimately they were to test their skills in the sprint for line honours. However, riding superbly throughout the race Fryer proved too strong in the closing stages holding out Clapham narrowly with Alan Clark third, Le Tessier was further back in fourth spot with Tony Ridgley fifth.

Craig Johns in his first outing with the club put in a great effort to finish in sixth spot while Sheona Clark responded well in the run home to finish 10th overall. Roberts working off scratch posted the fastest time with a slick 1.07.50 ride.


1 Russell Fryer    1.25.00
2 Brett Clapham           
3 Alan Clark              
4 Richard Le Tessier      
5 Tony Ridgley            
6 Craig Johns             
7 Alan Cluning            
8 Joe Cox                 
9 Tony van Merwyk         
10 Sheona Clark       0.48
11 Bob Addy           0.50
12 Mark Roberts           
13 Geoff Marshall         
14 Steve Ware             
15 Brian Buck             
16 Alan Taylor        5.22
17 Ruth Haslam        7.33
18 Phil Edwards           
19 Brian Fish        10.04
20 Paul Slocombe          
21 Rob Davis         10.26
22 Guy Pathe         10.53
23 Trevor Hedge      16.10
24 Ryan Willmot      17.49
25 Steve Dodd             

Local results 2007