Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Modella Road Race, Jack McGowan Handicap - 78km, Saturday July 21, 2007

The opening handicap of the winter season saw the back markers denied by a youngster from Blackburn. Luke Petrie capped off a fantastic effort by the second limit bunch, which combined well and made the most of their generous 22 minute advantage.

The writing was on the wall early on, with Clare Vlahopolous, Davern White and Martin Rowland setting a rapid tempo for the group that saw them close to within three minutes of the Limit bunch, captained by Ike Collings, and take another two minutes out of the 16 minute bunch before the opening climb twenty kilometres in.

At the same point, the back markers, led by Matt Chessum and Brendan Rowbotham of the CCCC/SHM Elite team, had halved the three minute gap to the bunch in front but still had a challenging eighteen minute deficit to the 22 minute bunch.

The climbs of Heath Hill and Ripplebrook saw the groups begin to merge, with nine riders from the Limit and the 22 minute bunches combining, the 11 minute bunch overhauling the 16 minute bunch, and Scratch reeling in the 3 and 7 minute bunches.

On the downhill run to the finish line at the end of the first lap, and the flat run to the Heads Road corner, the new lead group lost little time in the ideal conditions, and the unpaved 3 kilometre section before Thwaites Road wasn't enough to unsettle their rhythm either. Scratch had only made up another four minutes and with only Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) surviving the climbs to contribute to the pace making, Chessum and Rowbotham backed off the diesels to concentrate on the race for fastest time.

Petrie made his move on the early slopes of Heath Hill, with his effort shattering the previously tight knit bunch. A virtual nine rider pursuit unfolded over the final steep climb of Ripplebrook, but the Under 19 rider was up to the challenge and powered home just under half a minute ahead of another Blackburn junior, Brent Nelson, with Matt Clark just a few seconds further behind. Rounding out the top five were Rowland and White, while Vlahopolous earned the cash for the first woman home in sixth place.

Knevitt couldn't mark both Chessum and Rowbotham in the closing stages, with Chessum escaping to take the fastest time honours alone. The three surviving scratch men were the only riders to break the coveted two hour mark on the tough course.


1 Brent Nelson (Blackburn)               2.15.49
2 Kerrie Howard (CCCC)                      2.43
3 Peter Vlahos (CCCC)                           
4 Stephanie McGrath (Melbourne Uni)             
5 Suzannah Molloy (CCCC)                        
6 Peter Johnstone (Chelsea & Peninsula)*    3.41
7 Geoff Thomson (Warragul)                      
8 Justin Davis (CCCC)                           
9 Clint Van Beveren (CCCC)                      
10 Ed Vawdrey (CCCC)                            
11 Dean Heathcote (CATS)                        
12 Ken Ford (CCCC)                              
13 Gareth Martyn (CCCC)                         
14 Paul Logan (Coburg)                          
15 Matt Chessum (CCCC)                          
16 Nick Mitchell (Northcote)                3.51
17 Dan Thompson (CCCC)                      5.41
18 Ed Wilde (CCCC)                              
19 Scott Berry (CCCC)                           
20 Carl Rooney (Blackburn)                      
21 Julian Paynter (Hawthorn)                5.51
22 Paul Mason (CCCC)                        5.56
23 Glen Janetzki (CCCC)                     6.59
24 Trevor Coulter (CCCC)                    8.01
25 Dean Sanfilippo (CCCC)                       
26 Ross Jones (CCCC)                            
27 Russell Nelson (Blackburn)                   
28 Debbie Hobbs (CCCC)                      8.26
29 Radelle Berriman (CCCC)                      
30 David Anderson (Hawthorn)                    
31 Brian Burke (Blackburn)                      
32 Craig Steen (CCCC)                           
33 David McGrath (Hawthorn)                 8.56
34 Greg Kelson (CCCC)                      11.07
35 Zvonko Siklic (St Kilda)                     
36 Craig Porter (CCCC)                     12.00
37 Daniel Lewis-Toakley (CCCC)             13.14
38 Nick Palecek (CCCC)                     13.47
39 Greg Lane (CCCC)                        14.22
40 Adam King (CCCC)                        14.33
41 Gary Doggett (CCCC)                          
42 Davvyn Mason (CCCC)                     16.48
* fatest time

Local results 2007