Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Modella Road Race, Saturday July 7, 2007

Le Tour might be about to kick off tonight, at the height of the European summer, but conditions at Modella were anything but welcoming! A very cool 7 degrees greeted riders, with persistent light rain falling right around the circuit. Rain coats, booties and wind vests were the order of the day, but despite the artic conditions just under 100 riders were up to the challenge.

A particularly strong A Grade field rolled out, including recent winners Tom Leaper (Pro-Motion Bicycles) and Nick Mitchell (Mascot Cycles). Pat Shaw, recently returned from a stint in Europe with the Australian U23 team, was on the line, along with a strong contingent from the CCCC/SHM Elite team.

The big bunch stayed intact until the first ascent of Heath Hill, when a break containing Leaper, Shaw, Murray Spink (Giant), Guy Green, Steele Van Hoff and CCCC/SHM's Nathan Wise, Danny Kah and Vaughan Bowman went clear. Although the margin never got much more than thirty seconds to the main bunch, the leaders maintained a good tempo and were still clear at the base of the climb on the second lap.

The chases made ground on the Heath Hill Climb, but couldn't close the gap, as Bowman attacked the leading group. His attack was neutralised before the final climb at Ripplebrook, but the effort took its toll, and only Leaper, Shaw, Wise, Spink and Green survived to contest the mainly downhill run to the line. Leaper left his move until the final kilometre, before producing an attack that none could answer. Shaw mopped up the sprint for second, ahead of Wise and Spink.

The B Grade race proved more of a race of attrition. Half a dozen riders found the rapid tempo over the first set of hills too much as youngsters Sean Carruthers and Brent Tomlinson (Hampton Cycles) lit things up. The climbers couldn't break clear of noted fast men Geoff Thomson and Darren Cathie however, with the sprinters staying in contact on the second lap as well.

Carruthers proved to have more than one weapon in his arsenal however, unleashing a powerful sprint over the final 300 metres to hold off the more fancied veteran Thomson and his Warragul club mate James Henry. Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion) was next home ahead of Cathie, with Clare Vlahopolous (CBD/Giant) impressing on her first attempt in B Grade to take the women's prize only a few seconds behind the lead group.

Another youngster, Matt Fortunato (CBD/Giant), took the C Grade win after breaking away in the hills on the second lap, and just holding off a determined chase with a little help from Clint 'Single Speed' Van Beveren. Shane Dove led the bunch home, but missed out on the third place prize due to violating the centre line regulations.

Adam Trewin was next home, with Jay Heather (Hampton Cycles), June Handicap winner Luke Petrie, Luke Fetch and Callum Docker also finishing with the main bunch. First timer Fiona Spargo impressed with her climbing strength, and took the women's prize, finishing just behind the leaders.

A break of four riders crested the Ripplebrook climb together in D Grade, just ahead of Judith Cahill and Suzannah Molloy. With the rest of the bunch spread out in ones and twos further back on the steep climb, the four leaders pulled away on the run home. Completing a great day for CCCC's juniors, Luke Parker sprinted to the win just ahead of Trevor Coulter, Dean San Filippo and Peter Vlahos (Quick Cycle Coaching). Cahill rode strongly to take the top women's prize in fifth place overall.


A Grade
1 Tom Leaper (Blackburn)                            
2 Pat Shaw (Ballarat/Sebastapol)                    
3 Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
4 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders)                        
5 Guy Green (Blackburn)                             
6 Steele Van Hoff (Chelsea & Peninsula)             
7 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)                    
8 Vaughan Bowman (Carnegie Caulfield)               
9 Matt Davis (Blackburn)                            
10 Roy Clark (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
11 Peter Barnett (Carnegie Caulfield)               
12 James Henry (Warragul)                           
13 Nick Mitchell (Northcote)                        
14 Ed Vawdrey (Blackburn)                           
15 Paul Weymouth (Mornington)                       
16 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)                
17 Simon Shaw (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
18 Boon Chia (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
19 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn)                        
20 Dean Heathcote (Queensland)                      
21 Peter Aquilina (Carnegie Caulfield)              
22 Andy Curtain (Carnegie Caulfield)                
23 Matt Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
24 Luke Hanley (Warragul)                           
25 Tyrin Simpson (Carnegie Caulfield)               
26 Mark Kelly (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
27 Warren Nelson (Carnegie Caulfield)               
B Grade
1 Sean Carruthers (Carnegie Caulfield)              
2 Geoff Thomson (Warragul)                          
3 Jason Kruger (Warragul)                           
4 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)             
5 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)                
6 Neale Sturt (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
7 Gareth Martyn (Carnegie Caulfield)                
8 Brent Tomlinson (Carnegie Caulfield)              
9 David Tennant (Hawthorn)                          
10 Clare Vlahopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)           
11 Ken Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)                    
12 Gary Rosengarten (Carnegie Caulfield)            
13 Brady Whittaker (ADF)                            
14 Paul Carnibella (Carnegie Caulfield)             
15 Kurt Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)                
16 Kevin Murphy (Hawthorn)                          
C Grade
1 Matt Fortunato (Carnegie Caulfield)               
2 Clint Van Beveren (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Adam Trewin (Shepparton)                          
4 Jay Heather (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
5 Luke Petrie (Blackburn)                           
6 Luke Fetch (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
7 Callum Docker (NSW)                               
8 Fiona Spargo (Blackburn)                          
9 Steve Brooks (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
10 Graham Prosser (Carnegie Caulfield)              
11 Rob Pagey (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
12 Nick Bird (Blackburn)                            
13 Debbie Hobbs (Carnegie Caulfield)                
D Grade
1 Luke Parker (Carnegie Caulfield)                  
2 Trevor Coulter (Carnegie Caulfield)               
3 Dean San Filippo (Carnegie Caulfield)             
4 Peter Vlahos (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
5 Judith Cahill (Wellington)                        
6 Peter Ross (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
7 Imre Szeredi (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
8 Suzannah Molloy (Carnegie Caulfield)              
9 Carl Rooney (Blackburn)                           
10 John Groves (Carnegie Caulfield)                 
11 Nathan Corrigan-Martella (Carnegie Caulfield)    
12 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield)            
13 Iain Aitchison (Carnegie Caulfield)              
14 Ken Allan (Blackburn)                            
15 Ian Green (Carnegie Caulfield)                   
16 Jacob Schmid (Carnegie Caulfield)                

Local results 2007