Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Criterium series, Monash, Victoria -Tuesday January 23, 2007

A Grade
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)
C Grade.
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)
D Grade.
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)
Gordon Lawton & Ralph Anderson.
Photo ©: Janelle Stevens
(Click for larger image)

The Riverland Cycling Club riders enjoyed some tough competition at this week's criterium. Tuesday night saw the inclusion of E Grade, which made it a fair playing field for the club's new riders Ralph Anderson and Adrian Pipe. Although Anderson and Lawton dropped Pipe early on, he kept up the racing spirit and went on to finish their 30 minutes of racing. Gordon Lawton out sprinted Anderson in the final straight to claim line honours and an un-expected first place prize.

After acting as corner marshalls for the four grades, John Eshman, Angelo Ylia and Megan Taylor set out to start their race at E Grade's conclusion. The 35-minute race had the riders sharing responsibilities with each taking their turn at the front leading up to the final straight. In what was a surprising finish, Ylia and Eshman competed in a sprint battle, a real one at that, relegating Taylor to third. Ylia received a prize for winning the D Grade criterium, which was obviously a huge bonus for a great night of racing.

Aron Woosnam made the most of his last race by claiming line honours for C Grade ahead of in form Glen O'Brien and Claire Treilibs; who is now affectionately known as the smiling assassin. Unfortunately not everyone could keep up with the 34km/hr average, Wayne Woosnam and Lara MacKirdy may have had to ride solo for the majority of the race, but they did cross the line to claim 5th and 6th behind Peter Weston. The three remaining riders who retired early were happy to take up Marshalling duties for their fellow club members.

The nominees for the B Grade Competition were Bob Pankhurst, Mick Gray, Marcus Whitting, Greg Hatcher and Chris Stevens. Claiming victory and the prize for 1st place, a new tyre, was Stevens who was followed closely behind by Hatcher. Whitting and Gray rounded out the competition after averaging 36km/hr during the 45 minutes of racing.

Hamish MacKirdy won the battle for line honours ahead of Lee Stevens and Nigel Willoughby. Matthew Benson followed Willoughby over the line to finish with a 38.5km/hr average. Frequent attacks and tough competition had the A Grade riders focused for much of the race with a few smiles and drink breaks as the only distraction until the finish line.

Special thanks must go to Cycle Worx for their generous donation of cycling essentials that were awarded to the winners of Tuesday night's Criterium. Congratulations to Hamish MacKirdy, Craig Ward and Lee Stevens who have been competing in Adelaide in a number of events, including Road and Track Championships. Hamish claimed Gold at the State Track Championship, in the Elite Men's point's race, whilst Craig Ward claimed Bronze in the Elite Men's 1000 metre time trial.

This week's road race will be held at Loveday on Sunday followed by the Monash Criterium on Tuesday night. See why so many cycling enthusiasts enjoy our website, visit


A Grade (Av 38.5km/h)
1 Hamixh MacKirdy         
2 Lee Stevens             
3 Nigel Willoughby        
4 Matthew Benson          
B Grade (Av 36km/h)

1 Chris Stevens           
2 Greg Hatcher            
3 Marcus Whitting         
4 Mick Gray               
DNF Bob Pankhurst         
DNF Angus Boase           
C Grade (Av 34km/h)
1 Aron Woosnam            
2 Glen O'Brien            
3 Claire Treilibs         
4 Peter Weston            
5 Lara MacKirdy           
6 Wayne Woosnam           
DNF Barry Trewren         
DNF Ruth Strout           
D Grade (Av 31km/h)
1 Angelo Ylia             
2 John Eshman             
3 Megan Taylor            
E Grade (Av 28km/h)
1 Gordon Lawton           
2 Ralph Anderson          
3 Adrian Pipe             

Local results 2007