Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel Cycling Club

Race #9, Pinjarra Points Score, Sunday January 21, 2007

Matt Gibbons won convincingly in Race 9 of the Peel District Cycling Criterium series held at Pinjarra last weekend. Members were once again blessed with perfect conditions on the fast Pinjarra circuit.

In A Grade Gibbons went off like a rocket from the start and the field was immediately strained to stay in touch. With the first sprint to Gibbons the field soon split with the ultimate leaders staying together for the duration in spite of several attacks from Michael Dowell. Geoff Marshall, Adam Wise and Darren Lee had their own battle further back. For the most part Gibbons had the 'gas on the pedal' to win four of the five sprints and gain a convincing margin over next best Dowell and third place Raymond Loly.

On his first ride with Peel, Clint Cooper showed that he was easily fast enough to be graded B and enjoyed a very close tussle with Andy Bennett in all four sprints, with Dave Lee keeping them both honest. Phil Edwards came in with the leaders and Danielle Longworth trailed by just under a lap.

Peel's youngest rider, Wade Longworth, is becoming a worry to the usual veterans making up C grade with his second outright win in his last two races. Wade took all three sprints and won very clearly. One more like that an he is off to B grade!. The sprint placing's were strongly contested resulting in a very tight run for the minor placings.

On Sunday the 28th January the Peel Club in conjunction with the City of Rockingham hosts the Jim Thompson Memorial Criterium Point Score Race at Smeaton Way Rockingham. Five grades will be contested with prize money and trophies for the overall winners. Racing commences at 9am and spectators are most welcome.

For more information go to or call 9581 6613.


A Grade (50 minutes)
1 Matt Gibbons         21 pts
2 Michael Dowell       14
3 Raymond Loly          9
4 Geoff Marshall        5
5 Adam Wise             3
5 Darren Lee            3
6 Paul Slocombe          
7 Colin Rossiter         
8 Laurie Longworth       
9 Brian Buck             
10 Darryl Harris         
B Grade (40 minutes)
1 Clint Cooper         18 pts
2 Andy Bennett         13
3 Dave Lee              9
4 Phil Edwards          3
5 Danielle Longworth    1
C Grade (30 minutes)
1 Wade Longworth       15 pts
2 Bob Norton            6
3 Joe Cox               5
4 Peter Moyses          4
5 Tom Atkinson          3

Local results 2007