Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Series, Tuesday January 9, 2007

By Mal Sawford

An early A Grade break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
A Grade winner Brendan Rowbotham
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
Rick Jones leads Michael Vogt
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
C Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)
D Grade drive up the hill
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
(Click for larger image)

The smoke haze was back at Sandown, but a rare still night made for great conditions for the big field, just shy of 200 riders. Despite five days of hard racing in the Bay Classic, Peter Barnett and Brendan Rowbotham (SHM Cycles) were showing no signs of fatigue, with Rowbotham straight on the attack in A Grade with Wade Wallace.

Barnett countered after the capture, and went clear with a handy group including Andrew Stalder and Damon De Angelis (Promains), Danny Kah, Paul Wiesniewski, Belgian visitor Pieter Braekeveldt, Roy Clark and James Henry. Despite its horsepower, this break was reeled in, setting up Rowbotham for his next surge.

'Snowy' was joined by Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles) and Dylan Boone, and then a lap later by Paul Mason (Pro-Motion Bicycles), Matt Shea (Naughty Boy), Aiden McInernay (Fitzroy) and Shaun Gatter (Salter Cycles). With ten minutes remaining the bunch almost made contact, but Rowbotham and Mason accelerated again, with De Angelis and Nathan Jones crossing the gap from the bunch.

Braekeveldt was the last to reach this group, now twenty-five seconds clear, before Mason lost contact at two to go. On the final lap, the main bunch made up a lot of ground, and turned onto the finishing straight only fifty metres behind. There was no catching Rowbotham, however, as he sprinted to the win ahead of Braekeveldt. De Angelis hung on for third inches ahead of Boone, who led the main bunch home.

Martin Bole, Michael Vogt (Melbourne Bicycle Centre) and Rick 'makes his own rules' Jones (Datacom/Burnley Finance) built an early lead in B Grade, with Jones and Bole continuing after Vogt returned to the bunch. After the bunch chased up, Michael Hay and Paul McMullan (Datacom/Burnley) had a dip, with Hay able to stay with a counter attack by James Mowatt (Cycle Science), Bryan Walsh, Aaron Pitt and Scott Liston.

The two mountain bikers, Mowatt and Liston, rode all except Hay off their wheels, with Liston powering further ahead in the final laps to win convincingly. Mowatt hung on for second, but Hay was swept up on the final lap, with Clint McDonnell (Melbourne Bicycle Centre) leading the bunch home in third place after catching a late attack from Martin Bole. Tess Downing (Drapac-Porsche) sprinted to the women's win, ahead of Nicole Whitburn and Jenny Fay (Gran Prix Bicycles); all three were prominent at the Bay Classic.

Glenn Janetzki had C Grade in trouble early, but wasn't able to hold off the determined chase alone. Once he was reeled in, the bunch pounced quickly on every attack, until the eventual bunch sprint. Daniel Lewis-Toakley shot from a wall of riders in the final fifty metres to take a clear win, ahead of Jason Swackhamer, John Pritchard (Bicycle Superstore) and Spiros Mouzakis. Debbie Hobbs (Fitzroy) took the women's division ahead of Radelle Berriman.

Ben Hibbs looked like causing an upset in D Grade, with a strong attack at two to go that saw him still well clear at the bell, but the old hands had timed their chase well, catching the youngster on the final climb. Thomas Buschuehl took the bunch sprint ahead of David Gotts, Paul Carnibella and Michael McGowan, with Janet Keily sprinting home ahead of Melissa Nicholls and Andrea Bishop for the women's prizes.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday morning races at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. at Sandown on January 2nd. Twilight racing at Sandown Raceway is held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown International Raceway. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6), with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt - there is a strict no licence on race policy in effect!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. Returning riders must resume in the grade in which they last raced, unless prior arrangements are made with the handicapper.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade (1 hour, 62 starters)
1 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Pieter Braekeveldt (Belgium)                 
3 Damon De Angelis (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)             
5 Nathan Jones (Western Australia)
6 Andrew Stalder (Carnegie Caulfield)          
B Grade (55 minutes, 60 starters)
1 Scott Liston (MTBA)                          
2 James Mowatt (MTBA)                          
3 Clint McDonnell (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Martin Bole (Carnegie Caulfield)             
5 Colin Morris (Fotscray)                      
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Nicole Whitburn (Blackburn)                  
3 Jenny Fay (Ireland)                          
C Grade (50 minutes, 36 starters)
1 Daniel Lewis-Toakley (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Jason Swackhamer (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 John Pritchard (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Spiros Mouzakis (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Debbie Hobbs (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Radelle Berriman (Carnegie Caulfield)        
D Grade (45 minutes, 32 starters)
1 Thomas Buschuehl (St Kilda)                  
2 David Gotts (Carnegie Caulfield)             
3 Paul Carnibella (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Michael McGowan (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Janet Keily (Hawthorn)                       
2 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)           

Local results 2007