Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Illawarra Cycling Club

Handicap race, Wollongong, NSW, January 7, 2007

Resolution Revolution for Lorenc

After some time away from competition Richard Lorenc made a strong a strong return with victory in the 27km Handicap race on Sunday 7th January. After making a new years resolution to regain some fitness and shed some pounds Lorenc impressed all with his return to form.

The race was spread over eight and a half minutes with Jenni Vaughan-Floyd leading the charge. The remaining 24 riders were spread between four groups. From early on, the four and a half minute group, containing Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (husband of Jenni) and the eventual winner Lorenc, combined strongly to make inroads into riders ahead and to keep clear of those behind.

At the back of the race the six riders off scratch were working hard with strong turns of pace coming from Graham Rutter, Hans Battard and Tim Morris. Approaching the finish they had managed to catch the block group for two and a half minutes, but were still behind the race for victory. At the finish though it was Lorenc who proved too strong taking the win from Jeff Vaughan-Floyd and Lionel Covington.

Some 36 seconds later the scratch group arrived with Roger Ocvirk putting in a powerful sprint to take fastest time from Morris.

After a Christmas hiatus track racing resumes on Friday night and next Sunday's road event is a 36km scratch race.

Results - 27km

1 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)           
2 Jeff Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)       
3 Lionel Covington (Illawarra)         
4 Joe Williams (Illawarra)             
5 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)           
6 Peter Kelly (Illawarra)              
7 Roger Ocvirk (Illawarra)             
8 Tim Morris (Illawarra)               
9 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)            
10 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)               
11 David Russell (Illawarra)           
12 Graham Rutter (Sutherland Shire)    
13 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)           
14 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)       
15 Jenni Vaughan-Floyd (Illawarra)     
16 Ian Robinson (Illawarra)

Local results 2007