Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Twilight Series, Tuesday, January 2, 2007

By Mal Sawford

CCCC's first race for 2007 was a little low key, with 'only' 140 riders in attendance, as many of the A and B Grade regulars were resting ahead of tackling the famous five day Jayco Bay Classic which starts on Wednesday. As usual, the license table was working overtime as riders suddenly realised why there had been so many reminders to arrange an '07 license over the past couple of months!

The A Grade field was rarely intact as riders tested their new year form in the windy conditions. David Moreland and Roy Clark (both Croydon Cycleworks) were first to escape, before a counter attack from Peter Barnett (SHM Cycles) and Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles) stuck.

With a twenty second advantage to the bunch, this pair were joined at intervals by Simon Clarke (South, Pat Shaw (VIS), Shawn Gatter (Salter Cycles), Steven Rankine (Cairns), Nick Palecek (Richmond Cyclery) and Clark, although only Rankine and Shaw were able to stay with the original leaders as they kept the hammer down.

On the final lap, power house Justin Davis (O'Mara Cycles) towed Clarke and Simon Bone across to the lead group, before setting the pace the final time up the hill. Rounding the final corner, Clarke hit out first, but a patient Bone, who has been excelling in local veteran's racing, came off his wheel in the final metres to take the win, with Barnett third home.

B Grade saw a mid race break by strongmen Bruce Will and Russell Newnham (Pro-Motion Bicycles), put the disorganised bunch out of contention. They were joined by Datacom - Burnley Finance team mates David Taylor and Josh Morrison, and Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion), and were over thirty seconds clear at the finish.

After Newnham pulled his disappearing act on the final corner, it was the Datacom boys who battled for the win, with Taylor a comfortable winner, although his staged throw at the line almost saw him carry out a very close inspection of the track surface! Will finished ahead of Vandestadt for third, while fifth place went to new Datacom conscript Darren Cathie at the head of the bunch sprint, with Mary Rogers (Kathy Watt Cycling) only a few places behind.

Glen Janetzki was clearly one of the strongest riders in C Grade, regularly pulling big turns into the head wind. His strength eventually saw him break clear at two to go, chased by the newly promoted Sebastian Guiney. The pair combined on the final lap to hold off the chase, before Guiney opened a slight advantage at the top of the climb and held on for the win. Visiting South Australian Jeremy Austin led the bunch home ahead of Jason Swackhamer, while the women's race saw Radelle Berriman outsprint Kerrie Howard (Fitzroy Cycles).

The D Grade field splintered in the windy conditions, with fifteen riders in contention at half distance. Sensing some tired legs, Ivan Collings attacked at the end of the finishing straight, and then again at the top of the climb to go clear with Michael Boyce (SHM).

In the final laps, Jay Heather (Hampton Cycles) and Paul Weymouth reached the leaders, but in the dash to the line it was the two vets who battled out the win, with Boyce collecting his first win in front of his large cheer squad. Melissa Nicholls took the women's prize in a chase group just behind the main bunch.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday morning races at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). B, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and C Grade ride at 10am. Twilight racing at Sandown Raceway is held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown International Raceway. Entry is via the Sandown Road gate from 6pm (Melways map 80 B6), with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades.

All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt - there is a strict no licence on race policy in effect!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2007 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. Returning riders must resume in the grade in which they last raced, unless prior arrangements are made with the handicapper.

For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade (1 hour, 29 starters)
1 Simon Bone (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Peter Barnett (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Steven Rankine (Queensland)              
5 Pat Shaw (Ballarat)                      
6 Justin Davis (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade (55 minutes, 44 starters)
1 David Taylor (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Josh Morrison (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Bruce Will (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)    
5 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Mary Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)         
C Grade (50 minutes, 36 starters)
1 Sebastian Guiney (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Glen Janetzki (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Jeremy Austin (South Australia)          
4 Jason Swackhamer (Carnegie Caulfield)    
1 Radelle Berriman (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Kerrie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)       
D Grade (45 minutes, 31 starters)
1 Michael Boyce (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Ivan Collings (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Jay Heather (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Paul Weymouth (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield)    

Local results 2007