Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel & District Cycling Club

Port Kennedy Cycles Handicap, September 2, 2006

Darren Lee won the final race of the Port Kennedy Cycles Handicap event held at Serpentine last Saturday.

The 55km race, run by the Peel Cycling club and supported by Port Kennedy Cycles was the fifth and final race in the series.

Lee was strong throughout the race and riding in an attacking group soon reeled in the front markers.

Peter Hastie, Richard Lettessier and Steve Ware set a cracking pace upfront to keep the backmarkers at bay. Solid performances from Dave Lee, Tony Van Merwyk and Andrew Bennett saw them finish in the top ten. In the run home Lee turned on a powerful finish to lead Steve Ware to the line with Lettessier finishing over Geoff Marshall fourth.

The overall winner of the PK Cycles series was in form Peel rider Dave Berglund. Berglund has been in sensational form this season to take the series from Matt Gibbons, with Phil Diesel third. Young guns Michael Dowell and Raymond Loly complete the top five.

The next event is at Patterson Rd Pinjarra on Saturday the 9th at 2pm.

New members are welcome. For more information go to


1 Darren Lee
2 Steve Ware
3 Richard Lettissier
4 Geoff Marshall
5 Andrew Bennett
6 Stan Baker
7 Tony Van Merwyk
8 David Lee
9 Peter Hastie
10 David Bergland
11 Phil Diesel
12 Mark Roberts
13 Rob Addy
14 Michael Dowell
15 Luke Ghasseb
16 Raymond Loly
17 Jack Iveson
18 Tom Atkinson
Port Kennedy Cycles Race Series
1 Dave Bergland   33 pts
2 Matt Gibbons    33
3 Phil Diesel     28
4 Michael Dowell  25
5 Raymond Loly    19

Local results 2006