Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Broadford Seymour Cycling Club Inc

Tallarook September 2, 2006

Kirby’s Great Ride

Shayne Kirby rode a great tactical race to take out the first race for the spring in balmy weather at Tallarook. The 51km course went to Morella, Glenaroua, to Zwars Hill (Broadford) returning to Morella via Bidstrups Bridge, then the finish at Tallarook. 21 Riders raced over the undulating course with all starters finishing the scenic ride.

Ashley Smith returned to racing after a stint overseas to be first rider to start. The 15min bunch of John Burgess, Jeff Madex and Daryl O’Keefe held the lead for approx 35km before being caught on the climb out of Bidstrups Bridge by the 10 mins & 5 mins groups.

On the final stages of the climb Shayne Kirby and Warren Osborne from the 5 min group attacked to go clear. Bret Bender seeing the danger of these 2 riders going clear, put in a concerted effort to catch them and succeeded after a short chase.

On reaching Morella with 9km to the finish, there was about 3 mins between the leaders and the scratch riders lead by Jamie Steward. A group of riders from the 5 min and 10mins were chasing, 45 secs in arrears of the leaders. With 4km to go the scratch riders caught the 5 & 10 min groups were Steward immediately attacked to try and reel in the Kirby’s bunch.

Going up the last hill before the downhill finish Kirby rode clear to take a well deserved win. Osborne was caught near the line by the fast finishing Steward with Bender in 4th place.

Racing for Sat 9th Sept is a 44km individual TT from Burgess Signs at 2pm.

For info contact Jeff Hibberd 0408923781 or call into Seymour Cycles and see Glenn Christensen.


1 S Kirby
2 J Steward  (fastest)
3 W Osborne
4 B Bender
5 A Adams
6 S Fisher
7 R Burgess
8 R Melville
9 I Baker
10 J Hibberd

Local results 2006