Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

Mark Manning Memorial Handicap, Barmera, June 25, 2006

Taylor wins Cycling Trophy

Megan Taylor won June's Mark Manning Memorial Trophy race at Barmera. Riders were presented with close to the best riding conditions, little to no breeze and sunshine. Nineteen riders lined up for the two laps of 20km in what would end up being a tight and close finish. As the handicapped race unfolded the early feeling was that Taylor would be hard to catch as she had pushed ahead of her fellow riders unless a larger group of five riders consisting of Lara MacKirdy, Simon Woods, Ruth Strout, Peter Weston and John Eshman would join up with the three riders in front of them and increase the pace. That wasn't the case as the pressure on the first riders was coming from behind as a strong group of Mark Kershaw, Craig Ward and Mick Gray were working well together to average nearly 37 kmh over the first 20 km.

Between 20 and 30 km this group of three had caught Amanda Steele and Marcus Whiting with Whiting unable to stay with them, and also the group of five. With 10 km to go Kershaw, Ward, Gray, Steele and MacKirdy increased the workload to catch the next group of Bob Pankhurst, Peter Evans and Angelo Ylia. In the end Taylor held off the fast finishing Evans and Pankhurst to win her first race. Evans took second place in front of Pankhurst with Ylia crossing the line in fourth. Behind them the race was heating up for fifth place and possibly fastest time. Ward proved too quick in the end, crossing the line a wheel in front of Kershaw, Gray and Steele. Ward also achieved the fastest time as scratch rider Lee Stevens was unable to make up any ground with his solo effort.

This weekend sees riders head to Victoria for the Werrimull Inter-Club Handicapped Race with the Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club. No racing will be held on Sunday. The next Riverland race will be the Winkie Time Trial followed by time/distance handicap race and a BBQ lunch.


1 Megan Taylor
2 Peter Evans 
3 Bob Pankhurst 
4 Angelo Ylia 
5 Craig Ward (fastest time)
6 Mark Kershaw 
7 Amanda Steele 
8 Mick Gray 
9 Aileen Pelly 
10 Lee Stevens 
11 Gordon Lawton 
12 Lara MacKirdy 
13 Glen O'Brien 
14 Simon Woods 
15 Ruth Strout 
16 Peter Weston 
17 John Eshman 
DNF Marcus Whitting 
DNF Tasha

Local results 2006