Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bathurst Cycling Club

Road Championships, June 24, 2006

Things went pretty much to plan at this years Bathurst Cycling Club Road Championships with the favourites getting up in all four grades.

A grade

In A grade Continental Drapac Porsche team rider Dean Windsor, back on the bike after a mid season break to concentrate on University commitments, went on the attack right from the start. Strong masters performer Craig McAlister joining him to put the pressure on the rest of the field. Sensing the danger Richard Hobson and Steve Moon responded trying to attacked across to the leaders however where soon swept back up by the peloton lead by Drew Carter, Steve Brilley, Dwayne Grant (Orange) and Mudgee’s Nico Kastelien.

I wasn’t till Caloola Hill that the chase seemed to make any impact on the two leaders, however, Windsor lifted the pace again leaving the courageous McAlister and again putting the chasers under pressure. In the closing stages the peloton caught McAlister, however Windsor cleared out for a big solo win. At the finish line Windsor was over 4 minute clear, the interest in the classic sprint looming for the minor placing. NSW Masters Hill climbing champ Bruce Goddard lead the dash out form Drew Carter and McAlister, however Mark Windsor caught them by surprised with a big move from the back. Carter, a former State Kierin medallist responded with superior speed to taking the silver, with Windsor taking the bronze (and the masters title) behind the fast finishing Nico Kastelien from the Mudgee. Second in the Masters Division was the hard riding McAlister with Goddard an unlucky third.

B grade

B Grade was a different tactic with the field all together till the middle stage when pre race favourite Ryan O Donnell applied the pressure with another of Bathurst developing masters cyclists Mark Simons. When the 2 leaders where joined by former good performer Phil Dobel the rest of the B grade field who had been all split apart by Dobels attack, where virtually all of out of contention. Prolific Bcc Medallist Tony Hogan, Oranges Adam Williams and impressive newcomer Simon Hine chased hard but the leading trio of Dobel, O’Donnell and Simons had the medallist between them.

A solo attack by O’Donnell ensured the speed was right on in the final stages but with Dobel and Simons responding to catching he former local footballer, again the medals came down to a sprint. Ryan O’Donnell taking the gold from Phil Dobel and the hard riding Marco Simons in the bronze placing.

C grade

The Pace was on in C Grade with former NSW Masters Time Trail Champ Michael Coates and top Mudgee Ironman competitor Nick Kastelein driving the bunch right from the start. Pre race favourite Steve Moore was suited to the fast pace, and when Coates, Kastelien and Moore broke clear on Quarry Hill, it seemed the event was over for the rest of the field. However with Kastellien, a Mudgee club member and therefore not qualifying for the medals and with Coates puncturing soon after and retiring from the race, both the silver and bronze where still up for grabs back in the pack.

Throwing caution to the wind Scott Allan opted to still go for gold and attack across to Moore, but paid for the effort when a bunch containing a number of the grade’s top performers such as Jill Harris, Mick Foran, Greg Bell, Kevin Bell, Daryl Thorncraft and Rod Esdaile rode back past him on the top of the hill. At the end of the 40kms, in-form Steven Moore was a very deserving winner, with Daryl Thorncraft powering home for the silver, and Blue Mountain Resident Kevin Bell putting in a mighty ride to take the bronze.

D grade

D Grade included some good juniors and female cyclists including Jassy Lee and Raewyn Simons, plus a number of recent new Bathurst cycling club members. New comer Jody Parker started the favourite having improved out of sight in recent times, however his main challenge was to keep in touch with climber Gary Baker on Quarry hill. However when a good size group that included juniors Jarrah Deans and Cal Baker climbed the hill together, Parker looked to have the D Grade title in his keeping.

At the final turn Parker, Gary Baker, Jassy Lee and Cal Baker where in the leading group, but as expect Parker surged away at the finish to defeat Baker and Jasmine Lee, with Cal Baker the first junior home.


A Grade
1 Dean Windsor                   
2 Drew Carter                    
3 Mark Windsor                   
B Grade
1 Ryan O Donnell                 
2 Phil Dobel                     
3 Mark Simons                    
C Grade
1 Steven Moore                   
2 Daryl Thorncraft               
3 Kevin Bell                     
D Grade
1 Jody Parker                    
2 Gary Baker                     
3 Jasmine Lee                    
Masters Division (35years +)
1 Mark Windsor                   
2 Craig McAlister                
3 Bruce Goddard                  
Local results 2006