Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Queensland individual time trial championships

Toowoomba, June 17, 2006

Stephanie Jackson
Photo ©: John Flynn
(Click for larger image)

One second the margin as "Sailor Jack" wins Queensland time trial championship by John Flynn

Nineteen year old Queensland University Club cyclist Jack Anderson added yet another page to an already bulging sporting resume today, when he snuck home by the narrowest possible margin to claim the title of Queensland Open Time Trial Champion.

More experienced at catching the breeze, having won State and National Titles in sailing, the emerging Queensland under 23 cyclist showed he was just as adept at cheating the breeze, as he stole the title from the Victor Broncos Club's Brendan O'Connell by the margin of just one second.

The Elite men's podium.
Photo ©: John Flynn
(Click for larger image)

The win gave Anderson, the reigning Queensland Junior Road Race Champion, his first victory at State level in the senior ranks, with the promise of more to come.

"Hard , very hard day, the roads were really, really rough, it was really slow," Anderson said of the difficult conditions at Kingsthorpe, near Toowoomba.

"I started a bit fast and struggled a bit coming back in the head wind but I guess it went pretty much to plan. Been aiming for it all year actually."

Whether the skills Anderson learnt reading the breeze as a young sailor were of any advantage today was unclear, but the tricky cross winds / head winds on the undulating course of rough bitumen certainly weren't to the liking of several of his rivals.

Jack Anderson
Photo ©: John Flynn
(Click for larger image)

When the final out and back times were tallied at the end of 37.2 kilometres, it was Anderson fastest in 47:58, O'Connell second on 47:59.

The gutsy cyclist from Brisbane's Victor-Broncos club, left to consider the if's for the next twelve months.

"Yeah that's pretty cruel isn't it, but I guess he was better on the day wasn't he - well congratulations to jack," a disappointed O'Connell said.

"You can only do what you do on the day; it was bloody hard hey, the wind was just brutal, once it turned around and started smacking you in the head it was pretty hard."

Brendan O'Connell
Photo ©: John Flynn
(Click for larger image)

Anderson efforts, meantime, were all more impressive given the nineteen year old, racing as an under 23, was taking on the Elite Men for the first time at the State Titles.

"It's good to come out here with the elite guys here and beat them," Anderson said.

And of his future plans?

"I'd like to go overseas and do a bit of racing I guess."

With several of Queensland's Elite Women's cyclists unavailable due to international commitments, a field of just five riders lined up at the Queensland Championships

Kurt Dutton.
Photo ©: John Flynn
(Click for larger image)

Unheralded Sunshine Coast cyclist Shara Gillow made the most of the opportunity to impress, but unlike the men's event the margin was anything but close. Gillow took 1:56 out of her next rival in her gold medal ride over twenty five kilometres, with Queensland University's Stephanie Jackson second and Hamilton Pine Rivers Melissa Anderson third.


Mmas 8/9
1 Anthony  Bolter Hamilton Pine River Wheelers) 32.41
2 Ronald  Young Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)  34.00

Wmas 3
1 Helen  Griffiths C.A.T.S.)     31.05
2 Janine  Parkin Gold Coast Goldstars C C)  34.18
3 Andrea  Gormley Club Bikeline)     34.45
4 Lisa  Drew Gold Coast Goldstars C C)    35.13
Wmas Combined
1 Elizabeth  Randall Blackburn Cycling Club Inc) 33.13
2 Rhonda  Craigie Grafton Cc)    33.31
3 Desrae  Cameron Victor Broncos)    36.28
4 Vivien  Brooks Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)  37.18
5 PatriciaWoods Club Bikeline)    37.36
DNS Deidre  Rutherford Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)  
Mmas 7
1 Chass  Matters Victor Broncos)     29.35
2 Mike  Griffen C.A.T.S.)      31.03
3 Peter  White Lifecycle Cycling Club)    31.57
4 Douglas  Graham Club Bikeline)     33.16
5 Alain  Potier Balmoral Cycle Club)   39.13
DNS Thomas  Mccormick Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)  
Mmas 6
1 Roy  Jelley Victor Broncos)    30.38
2 Jon  Brooks Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)  33.58
DNS Graham  Day Club Bikeline)     
DNS Arthur  Puie Coral Isle Cyclists Inc.)   
Mmas 5
1 Peter  Flynn Ffast Cycle Club)     30.46
2 Ray  Davis Balmoral Cycle Club)    31.06
3 Paull  Houston Ffast Cycle Club)    33.03
4 Derrick  Parkins Hamilton Pine River Wheelers) 35.45
Mmas 4
1 Craig  Taylor Ipswich C C)     29.08
2 Alberto  Monte Rego Balmoral Cycle Club)  29.53
3 Colin  Richards Ipswich C C)    31.13
4 DavidGillow Sunshine Coast Cc)     31.53
5 John  Rafter Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)   32.04
6 Steven  Henderson Balmoral Cycle Club)   32.36
7 Brian  Collier Ffast Cycle Club)    33.56
8 JohnHamson Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)  34.18
9 Gerard  O'brien Hamilton Pine River Wheelers) 34.48
10 Anthony  Orton Balmoral Cycle Club)    35.51
11 Douglas  Walker Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)  39.24
DNS Max  Greer Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)    
Mmas 3
1 Victor  Costa Victor Broncos)     27.53
2 Glenn  Fordham Logan City Cycling Club)  28.29
3 William  Ayres Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)  28.50
4 Daniel  Mack Uni Cycle Club)    29.07
5 Steve  Greig Uni Cycle Club)    29.48
6 Philip  Muller Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)  30.07
7 David  Costanzo Murwillumbah Cycle Club)  31.18
8 Tony  Simonelli Victor Broncos)    31.19
9 Shane  Poole Toowoomba Cycling Club Inc.)   32.17
10 GriffDavies (Ffast Cycling Club)     32.30
DNS Paul  Bales Ffast Cycle Club)     
Mmas 2
1 Paul  Barton Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)   28.25
2 Andrew  Kelk Uni Cycle Club)    31.10
3 Darren  Toyne Balmoral Cycle Club)   32.16
4 Scott  Robinson Uni Cycle Club)    32.51
5 Michael  O'donoghue Uni Cycle Club)    33.22
6 Myles  Matthews Logan City Cycling Club)  34.08
7 John  Flynn Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)   34.38
DNF Wayne  Wilmott Victor Broncos)     
DNS Peter  Gwynne C.A.T.S.)      
DNS Geoffrey  Stieler Ipswich C C)     
DNS Timothy  Goulding Uni Cycle Club)     
DNS David  Alsop Balmoral Cycle Club)     
Elite Women
1 Shara Gillow Sunshine Coast Cc)     42.18
2 Stephanie  Jackson Uni Cycle Club)   44.14
3 Melissa  Anderson Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)  45.25
4 MiekeMeyer Ffast Cycle Club)    47.27
5 Danette  Mclean Club Bikeline)     50.43
DNS Kate  Porteous Rockhampton Cycle Club)   
DNS Anouska  Edwards Rockhampton Cycle Club)    
DNS Jocelyn  Loane Lifecycle Cycling Club)   
Elite Men
1 Jack  Anderson Uni Cycle Club)     47.58
2 Brendan  O'connell Victor Broncos)   47.59
3 Gavin  Nicholls Ffast Cycle Club)    48.01
4 Kurt  Dutton Victor Broncos)    50.16
5 Shem  Guthrie Ffast Cycle Club)     50.20
6 Klayten  Smith Clarence St Ccc)    50.25
7 Mark  Ledgerwood Ipswich C C)     50.36
8 Peter  Garrone Uni Cycle Club)     50.46
9 James  Meyer Ffast Cycle Club)     53.15
10 Warren  Forbes (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)  53.42
11 Gary  Land (Uni Cycle Club)     54.43
12 Sam  Beck (Club Bikeline)      57.02
13 Niall  Mcdonagh (Carnegie Caulfield Cc)    
DNS Adam  Connelly (Balmoral Cycle Club)    

Local results 2006