Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Riverland Cycling Club

June 4, 2006

The Riverland Cycling Club held a 45km road race around their Loxton circuit on Sunday, with the cold weather and headwind proving favourable for the stronger riders.

Riding off a limit time of 26 minutes, newcomers Glenn O'Brien and Megan Taylor held off Aileen Pelly and Gordon Lawton for most of the first lap, and when both groups combined, Pelly pushed the group with her attacks on the hills.

Michael Anderson, Peter Evans, Bob Pankhurst and Angelo Ylia rode from 17 minutes and proved to be a strong grouping. Anderson, coming back into form, worked well into the headwind along the Paruna road.

John Eshman, Ruth Strout and Peter Weston rode from 18 minutes and remained within sight of the 21 minute grouping of Amanda Steele and Craig Ward, but it wasn't until mid-way into the second and last lap that Ward, teaming with scratchman Lee Stevens, was able to catch and eventually pass these riders.

Stevens and Ward continued to increase their pace, and assisted by the slight tailwind along Habel Road and with the realisation that there was an opportunity to claim a podium placing, pursued the leading cyclists.

On the final descent on the return into Loxton, Anderson was able to catch onto the back of Stevens and Ward and held on until 500m from the finish line, when Stevens made an attacking sprint to claim victory and fastest time honours with an average speed of 36km/hr. Ward claimed a well-deserved second and Anderson third place.

Goodluck to all riders participating in the "Race to the Sun" 2-day, 4-stage event hosted by the Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club next weekend.

The next Club ride will be graded scratch races on a combined Winkie/Glossop course, starting at the Winkie school at 9:15am, Sunday 11th June.

For further information visit


1 Lee Stevens (Fastest time)
2 Craig Ward 
3 Michael Anderson
4 Peter Evans
5 Bob Pankhurst
6 John Eshman
7 Aileen Pelly
8 Peter Weston 
9 Ruth Strout
10 Amanda Steele 
11 Josh Steele
12 Gordon Lawton
13 Megan Taylor
14 Glenn O'Brien
15 Angelo Ylia 

Local results 2006