Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Broadford Seymour Cycling Club Inc

Seymour, June 3, 2006

Racing on Saturday was a 36km group handicap over the Seymour/Managalore/GV Highway service road/Mangalore Airport/ Avenel circuit.

Only 10 cyclists faced the starter for the journey due to 10 other members riding in the annual Preston Mountain Classic races.

The front markers lead by Jeff Madex rode a well judged race to hold out the 6 riders from the scratch mark for a well deserved win.

In the run to the line Daryl O’Keefe edged out Jeff Madex from a fast finishing Wayne Flint. Shortly after Glenn Christensen and Alan Adams fought out a dead heat for 4th position, with Warren Osborne and Rhys Melville the next riders to finish.

In the Preston Mountain Classic Elite section over the distance of 133 km 2 riders from the club competed. Brett Loney was unfortunate to fall midway thru the race but survived to tell the tale. Shane Edwards rode a great race but was swamped by the scratch riders going over the daunting Murchison Gap hill.

8 members rode in the 90km veteran section. Alan Adams rode an excellent race to finish in 3rd place less than half a length from the winner, Carl Simmons was close up in 8th place. Warren Osborne, Kevin Simmons, Ron Burgess, Jeff Hibberd, Bret Bender and Ian Baker finish the race shortly after.

Alan Adams, Warren Osborne, Bret Bender and Ian Baker also rode the club race above less than 2 ½ hours later. It is a testament to the fitness of the riders to be able to complete both races.

There will be no club racing over the Queen’s Birthday weekend but several riders will compete at the Bendigo 3 day Tour.

Club racing will return on Sat 17th June with 4 laps of the Schoolhouse circuit, starting at Glenaroua Fire Station at 2pm sharp.

Local results 2006