Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

41st Memorial Samyn - 1.1

Fayt-le-Franc, Belgium, March 4, 2009

2008 Results    Results    Past winners

Weylandts gets his way in the cold

Victory dedicated to late Belgian rider

Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) took his first
Photo ©: JF Quénet
(Click for larger image)

Belgian Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) gave local fans something to cheer about as he out-sprinted French breakaway mate Rémi Cusin (Agritubel) to win the 41st Memorial Samyn. The duo caught and dropped Björn Leukemans (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) on the final lap, with the Belgian finishing six seconds behind in third place.

"I'm very happy with this victory," said Weylandt. "It's as if I've won a bet with myself after last week's bad results. I'd like to dedicate this win to my friend [Ralph] Nolf, who passed away way too soon. I wanted this victory for him. Now I'm planning to race in the Drie Daagse Van West Vlaanderen. I hope I do as well there."

Leukemans attacked from the lead group of nine riders on the final lap, a move that Weylandt covered with Cusin close behind. Cusin launched an attack in the cold, wet conditions with three kilometres remaining but only Weylandt was able to stay with the rider.

"It was a very tough race for the riders," said Quick Step sports director Rik Verbrugghe. "I'm really happy for Wouter. He responded to some less than optimal performances by making the most of his pedals on a day for true diehards."

Milram's Markus Eichler attacked late from the breakaway in hope of taking the final podium spot. The German classics rider left his move too late however and was forced to settle for fourth place.

"The team made a big impression on the race today," said Milram sport director Ralf Grabsch. "With constant rain, lots of wind and only five degrees, it was a hard race. Markus Eichler made the best of the situation, but he was completely frozen by the finale and therefore couldn't do anything more. We can be satisfied with fourth place."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Jean-Francois Quenet

Images by Isabelle Duchesne/

Results - 191 km

1 Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step                     4.43.28
2 Rémi Cusin (Fra) Agritubel                                  
3 Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team      0.06
4 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram                        0.34
5 Roy Sentjens (Bel) Silence-Lotto                        0.43
6 Jérémie Galland (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun           
7 Jan Bakelandts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator         
8 Florian Vachon (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole                
9 Geert Omloop (Bel) Palmans Cras                         2.06
10 Jimmy Casper (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun         4.58
11 Stijn Neirynck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    6.38
12 Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team           
13 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Silence-Lotto                       
14 Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Quick Step                            
15 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Agritubel                           
16 Robert Förster (Ger) Team Milram                           
17 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Verandas Willems                     
18 Sven Renders (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator          
19 Emilien Benoit Berges (Fra) Agritubel                      
20 Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Quick Step                            
21 Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Française Des Jeux                
22 Jos Pronk (Ned) Krolstone Continental Team                 
23 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Silence-Lotto                     
24 Francis De Greef (Bel) Silence-Lotto                       
25 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Milram                               
26 Bart Vanheule (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator         
27 Dominik Roels (Ger) Team Milram                            
28 Sandy Casar (Fra) Française Des Jeux                       
29 David Boucher (Fra) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago              
30 Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team             
31 Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Française Des Jeux                 
32 Jonathan Thire (Fra) Auber 93                              
33 Mathieu Criquielion (Bel) Verandas Willems                 
34 Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom               
35 Gil Suray (Bel) Roubaix Lille Metropole                    
36 Timothy Vangheel (Bel) Palmans Cras                        
37 Robert Retschke (Ger) Continental Team Differdange         
38 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Team Katusha                       
39 Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha                   7.10
40 Christophe Brandt (Bel) Silence-Lotto                  7.23
41 Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team                      7.30
42 Stéphane Poulhies (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale               7.37
43 Matheus Pronk (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team       8.10
44 Daniel Furmston (Aus) Cinelli Down Under                                       

Past winners

2008 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Française des Jeux
2007 Jimmy Casper (Fra)
2006 Renaud Dion (Fra) AG2R Prevoyance
2005 Cancelled 2004 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Domo 2003 Stefan van Dijk (Ned) Lotto-Domo 2002 Magnus Backstedt (Swe) Team fakta 2001 Kris Gerits (Bel) Vlaanderen-T Interim 2000 Frank Hoj (Den) 1999 Thierry Marichal (Bel) 1998 Ludovic Auger (Fra) 1997 Michel Van Haecke (Bel) 1996 Hans De Meester (Bel) 1995 (3) Johan Capiot (Bel) 1994 (2) Johan Capiot (Bel) 1993 Wil-fried Nelissen (Bel) 1992 Johan Capiot (Bel) 1991 Johnny Dauwe (Bel) 1990 (2) Hendrik Redant (Bel) 1989 Hendrik Redant (Bel) 1987 Claude Criquielion (Bel) 1986 Patrick Onnockx (Bel) 1985 Ronny Van Holen (Bel) 1984 Daniel Rossel (Bel) 1983 Jac Van Meer (Ned) 1982 Joseph Jacobs (Bel) 1981 Pol Verschuere (Bel) 1980 Gery Verlinden (Bel) 1979 Adri Schipper (Ned) 1978 Herman Vanspringel 1977 Michel Perin (Fra) 1976 Dirk Baert (Bel) 1975 Alain Santy (Fra) 1974 André Dierickx (Bel) 1973 Louis Verreydt (Bel) 1972 Marc De Meyer (Bel) 1971 Julien Van Lint (Bel) 1970 Ronny Van de Vijver (Bel) 1969 Herman Vrijders (Bel) 1968 José Samyn (Fra)