Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Tour Series #3 - NE

Woking, UK, June 2, 2009


Downing’s power demonstration brings back-to-back wins

Proceedings were once again blessed with a warm, balmy evening of high-speed racing as the road show came to Woking. The Surrey town saw some furious racing early on, which resulted in a crash involving Round 1 and 2 winners Graham Briggs and 2008 National Circuit racing champion Downing. However, both recovered their composure to play their part in another fantastic spectacle of city-centre bike racing.

After 20 minutes of racing a small group of four riders, containing Malcolm Elliot, escaped and stayed away for almost 10 laps until the Halfords train reeled them in coming through the second sprint of the night. By this point the field had started to fragment – due in part to crashes and some high-speed pain being dealt out by the Rapha – Condor, Candi TV - Marshalls Pasta and Halfords squads.

As the race reached 45 minutes Exeter-winner Downing was at the head of affairs driving another small group of five riders, which was followed by some furious attacks firing off the front. Racing then settled with five laps to go as a group of around 20 riders started to think about the final.

With four laps to go Dean Downing launched himself off the front - as racing was by now averaging 32mph - he quickly gained a gap of around 5 seconds, extending it to enable a glorious two-armed salute as he crossed the line alone.

Tony Gibb won the sprint for second, and Steven Adams took third, meaning that Plowman Craven – Madison won the team prize on the night, with Jeroen Janssen making up the three counters.

After three races of the 10-round Tour Series Rapha-Condor moved into the overall team leaders’ jerseys, with Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta moving down to second and Plowman Craven - Madison in third.


1 Dean Downing (GBr) Rapha-Condor                         
2 Tony Gibb (GBr) Plowman Craven - Madison                
3 Steven Adams (GBr) Plowman Craven - Madison             
4 Russell Downing (GBr) Candi Tv - Marshalls Pasta        
5 Rob Hayles (GBr) Team Halfords-Bikehut                  
6 Yantko Barker (Ger) Sigma Sport Specialized Sportful    
7 Jeroen Janssen (Ned) Plowman Craven - Madison           
8 Tom Southam (GBr) Rapha-Condor                          
9 Simon Gaywood (GBr) Team Corley Cycles                  
10 Ian Wilkinson (GBr) Team Halfords-Bikehut              
1 Plowman Craven - Madison                                
2 Rapha - Condor                                          
3 Candi TV - Marshalls Pasta                              
4 Team Halfords Bikehut ?                                 
5 Sigma Sport Cycling Team?                               
6 Sports Beans - Wilier?                                  
7 Team Corley Cycles                                      
8  Endura Racing                                          
10 BMC UK Racing Team                                     
Overall team standings after Round 3
1 Rapha - Condor                                          
2 Plowman Craven - Madison                                
3 Candi TV - Marshalls Pasta                              
4 Team Halfords Bikehut                                   
5 Sports Beans - Wilier?                                  
6 Sigma Sport Cycling Team                                
7 BMC UK Racing Team                                      
8 Team Corley Cycles                                      
10 Endura Racing