Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

7th GP Triberg Schwarzwald - 1.1

Germany, June 6, 2009

2008 Results    Results    Past winners

Haussler beats break companions for win

Heinrich Haussler (Cervélo Test Team) won the GP Triberg Schwarzwald, which started and finished in Triberg on Saturday. He was the fastest of an eight-man break and arrived at the finish five seconds ahead of Jan Bakelants (Topsport Vlaanderen) and 15 seconds ahead of John Fröhlinger (Milram).

After three small breaks tried their hands at getting away, a group of eight riders established a successful break including Haussler, Patrick Sinkewitz (PSK Whirlpool), Peter Velits and John Fröhlinger (both Milram), Thomas de Gendt and Jan Bakelants (both Topsort Vlaanderen), Christophe Moreau and Eduardo Gonzalo (both Agritubel). The break at one point had a four minute advantage.

"Today's race was super hard right from the beginning as the riders had a 3,500m climb to ride," said Cervélo Test Team Sports Director Jens Zemke. "Heinrich did a incredible job today surviving as the single rider from the breakaway group. Because he was so dangerous in the sprint, they made it very hard for him."

Only 20 of the 90 starters completed the race despite the fact that organizers had tried to make this year's course easier by reversing the direction of the course. Past editions had featured a climb with a 19 percent grade.

Results - 150km

1 Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Cervelo Test Team                          4.11.43
2 Jan Bakelandts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator                   0.05
3 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Team Milram                                 0.15
4 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator                  0.35
5 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Agritubel                                         
6 Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) PSK Whirlpool - Author                         2.58
7 Eduardo Gonzalo Ramirez (Spa) Agritubel                               3.42
8 Peter Velits (Svk) Team Milram                                        8.14
9 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator            13.25
10 Peter Wrolich (Aut) Team Milram                                          
11 Luis Ángel Maté (Spa) Serramenti Pvc Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli    
12 Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago                            
13 Tom Criel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator                           
14 Elias Schmaeh (Swi) Vorarlberg - Corratec                                
15 Stanislav Kozubek (Cze) PSK Whirlpool - Author                      13.47
16 Tomas Buchacek (Cze) PSK Whirlpool - Author                         13.53
17 Frank Scherzinger (Ger) Atlas-Romer's Hausbäckerei                       
18 Maurizio Biondo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia - Bossini Docce             14.03
19 Brice Feillu (Fra) Agritubel                                        14.29
20 René Weissinger (Ger) Vorarlberg - Corratec                         16.45

90 starters, 20 finishers                               

Past Winners

2008 Mathias Frank (Swi) Gerolsteiner 
2007 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Perutnina Ptuj                              3.44.36
2006 Jure Golcer (Slo) Perutnina Ptuj
2005 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner 
2004 Marcus Fothen (Ger) Gerolsteiner
2003 Torsten Hiekmann (Ger) Team Telekom    
2002 Jørgen Bo Petersen (Den) EDS-fakta