Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Sequoia Cycling Classic - NE

Exeter/Visalia, California, USA, March 15-16, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage  

Stage 4 - March 16: Pro Women's Criterium

Teutenberg takes bunch sprint

By Kirsten Robbins in Visalia, California

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Team High Road - Women) celebrates
Photo ©: Mitch Clinton
(Click for larger image)

Double crashes marred the end of the women's 40 mile NRC criterium held in down town Visalia. But when it comes to dodging bullets in a field sprint Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Team High Road) proved more than capable of running away with the victory ahead of the Tibco duo Brooke Miller and Lauren Franges.

"There were a lot of attacks and the race was really fast today but there was never the right group so the small breaks always came back," said Teutenburg. "With twenty laps to go we realised a break was not going to go away and we switch our focus onto preparing for a field sprint."

According to the race winner teams like Aaron's and Colavita/Sutter Home were amongst the most active riders looking for a break away. There was never the correct combination of riders, revealed Teutenburg, which lead to the main peloton's discontent.

Third placed on the day Lauren Franges noted that like Team High Road, her team's best shot at a victory was also in a field sprint. "No one seemed interested in rolling off the front so we were content in saving our legs, not go for primes and just save our legs for the finish," said Franges.

"The racing this weekend was great because it shows the women can race really hard and in longer distances so with the increased prize money and distances made for very exciting racing," added Franges, regarding the event's $10,000 USD prize list and lengthy 40 mile criterium. "It raises the level in general and attracted more women to come out and take part in the weekend events. We are thankful for the prize list and we are happy to work hard for it with increased distances."

No, it's not the next race waiting to start,
Photo ©: Mitch Clinton
(Click for larger image)

A large crash happened through the final corner before the finish line, disrupting much of the field's chance at an NRC win. Furthermore, a rather strong head wind on the finishing straight played into the hands of the more powerful rider.

"I came out of the corner in third place just behind Brooke, we shared the lead out with Tibco because neither of our teams had enough people left to do a full lead out," said Teutenburg. "Kim Anderson and Anke Wichmann did a great job in the lead out and then Lauren Franges took over for Brooke Miller. I knew I had a good position and the headwind on the finishing straight was a good advantage for me."

Lauren Franges (Tibco)
Photo ©: Mitch Friedman
(Click for larger image)

Second place sprinter Brooke Miller has been coming into her own, winning regularly in field sprints across North America. Miller was excited when the opportunity to sprint against a world ranked sprinter like Teutenburg arose.

"I always love sprinting against Ina, she's my favourite rider, so fast and impressive," said Miller. "I was excited when I found out that she was going to be racing here and to have the chance for my riders to lead me out and see what I could do in a sprint against her.

"She's a tough rider and I'm proud of my team who gave me the opportunity to go head to head with a rider like her," she added.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mitch Clinton/

Images by Mitch Friedman/

Images by Kurt Jambretz /


Pro 1/2 Women
1 Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Team High Road)                       
2 Brooke Miller (Team TIBCO)                                 
3 Lauren Franges (Team TIBCO)                                
4 Anne Samplonius (Cheerwine Cycling)                        
5 Meredith Miller (Aaron's Pro Women's Cycling Tea)          
6 Nichole Wangsgard (Colavita / Sutter Home p/b Cook)        
7 Megan Guarnier (PROMAN Racing)                             
8 Anna Lang (Aaron's Pro Women's Cycling Tea)                
9 Janel Holcomb (Webcor Builders)                            
10 Leigh Hobson (Cheerwine Cycling)                          
11 Jennifer Wilson (SouthBay Wheelmen)                       
12 Shontell Gauthier (Colavita / Sutter Home p/b Cook)       
13 Virginia Perkins (PROMAN Racing)                          
14 Michelle Beltran (Biciycle John)                          
15 Amber Rais (Team TIBCO)                                   
16 Iona Wynter Parks (Colavita / Sutter Home p/b Cook)       
17 Rachel Tzinberg (Bicycle Johns)                           
18 Marni Hambleton (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)           
19 Jennifer Reither (SouthBay Wheelmen)                      
20 Morgan Kapp (SouthBay Wheelmen)                           
21 Andrea Dvorak (Colavita / Sutter Home p/b Cook)           
22 Elizabeth Galenti (Helen's)                               
23 Anke Wichmann (Team High Road - Women)                    
24 Taitt Sato (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)                
25 Mara Abbott (Team High Road - Women)                      
26 Elis Bradshaw (Metromint Cycling on Marin Bike)           
27 Shannon Koch (Metro Volkswagen Cycling Team)              
28 Nicole Evans (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)              
29 Molly Van Houweling (Metromint Cycling)                   
30 Helene Drumm (PROMAN Racing)                              
31 Chellie Terry (Fitzgerald's Bicycles)                     
32 Olivia Dillon (Touchstone Climbing)                       
33 Rachel Heal (TIBECO)                                      
34 Hannah Banks (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)              
35 Amanda Seigle (Code 3 Racing)                             
36 Abby Lyn Cooper (PROMAN Racing)                           
37 Kristin Sanders (Aaron's Pro Cycling Team)                
38 Holly Borowski (Touchstone/US Armed Forces)               
39 Martina Patella (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)           
40 Helen Kelly (Team TIBCO)                                  
41 Kim Anderson (Team High Road - Women)                     
42 Tiffany Cromwell (Colavita / Sutter Home p/b Cook)