Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

90th Giro dell'Emilia - 1.HC

Italy, October 13, 2007

2006 Results    Results    Past winners

Schleck gets ready for Lombardia with win

Fränk Schleck of Team CSC wins the Giro dell'Emilia
Photo ©: Roberto Bettini
(Click for larger image)

Fränk Schleck (Team CSC) won the Giro dell'Emilia and showed he is ready for his final big race of the season, the Giro di Lombardia on October 20. Schleck and Rebellin, both having shown brilliant form in the World Championships in Stuttgart, accelerated hard in the decisive part of the race. The Luxembourger outsprinted the Italian on the top of the San Luca climb.

Stefano Boggia (Ceramica Flaminia) was the first to attack, only three kilometres into the race. He was joined by the Swiss Gregory Rast of the Astana team at kilometre 25. The race started fast, with the first hour raced at an average speed of 43.9 km/h. The maximum advantage for the duo was 13'50" at kilometre 59.

After 107 kilometres Boggia was too exhausted to keep the pace and Rast continued solo, reaching the Città di Bologna by himself, shortly before the final circuits with the climb of San Luca, to be done five times.

The favourites rode together on those final loops and up the San Luca climb until 11 kilometres from the finish. A group of 11 got away, with Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner), Damiano Cunego and Sylvester Szmyd (Lampre – Fondital), Christopher Horner and Cadel Evans (Predictor – Lotto), Riccardo Riccò (Saunier Duval – Prodir), Fränk Schleck, Alexander Kolobnev and Carlos Sastre (Team CSC), Luca Mazzanti (Ceramica Panaria – Navigare) and Giairo Ermeti (Tenax).

Schleck and Rebellin were able to get away with a little more than a kilometre to go. Schleck beat Rebellin in the two-up sprint decisively, giving the Luxembourger time to celebrate. American Horner finished in third place.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Roberto Bettini/

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Results - 205km

1 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Team CSC                                     5.22.17 (38.165 km/h)
2 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner                                  0.01
3 Chris Horner (USA) Predictor - Lotto                                0.05
4 Riccardo Ricco (Ita) Saunier Duval - Prodir                         0.10
5 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - Fondital                              0.18
6 Cadel Evans (Aus) Predictor - Lotto                                 0.25
7 Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Lampre - Fondital                             0.26
8 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Ceramica Panaria - Navigare                     0.48
9 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team CSC                                    0.56
10 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank                                       1.00
11 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Tenax                                          1.19
12 Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone - Caffe Mokambo            1.55
13 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas                                      2.01
14 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Quickstep - Innergetic                         
15 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Team L.P.R.                                   2.02
16 Carlos Sastre Candil (Spa) Team CSC                                    
17 Dario David Cioni (Ita) Predictor - Lotto                          2.03
18 Leonardo Moser (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni- Selle Italia    2.05
19 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Quickstep - Innergetic                             
20 Alexandr Arekeev (Rus) Acqua & Sapone - Caffe Mokambo              2.08
21 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Team L.P.R.                                 2.21
22 Hubert Krys (Pol) Ceramica Flaminia                                2.47
23 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Liquigas                                           
24 Niklas Axelsson (Swe) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni- Selle Italia       
25 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saunier Duval - Prodir                           
26 Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank                                          
27 Alessandro Bertuola (Ita) Tenax Salmilano                              
28 Andrey Mizourov (Kaz) Astana                                           
29 Philip Deignan (Irl) AG2r Prévoyance                                   
30 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit System                          2.55
31 Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Rabobank                                     3.01
32 Santo Anza (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni- Selle Italia        3.26
33 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria - Navigare                   3.39
34 Luca Solari (Ita) Team L.P.R.                                          
35 Andrea Tonti (Ita) Quickstep - Innergetic                          4.02
36 Marco Marzano (Ita) Lampre - Fondital                              4.03
37 Matthew Lloyd (Aus) Predictor - Lotto                              4.49
38 Cristiano Salerno (Ita) Tenax Salmilano                            6.56
39 Blaise Sonnery (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance                               6.58
40 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone - Caffe Mokambo            6.59
41 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ceramica Panaria - Navigare               7.07
42 Qpueindrtoero Arreitunandia (Spa) Barloworld                       7.09

Past winners

2006 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner           196.6 km in 4.55.15 (39.953 km/h)
2005 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre-Caffita
2004 Ivan Basso (Ita) Team CSC
2003 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Spa)     
2002 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 
2001 Jan Ullrich (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 
2000 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre
1999 Michael Boogerd (Ned)
1998 Mirko Celestino (Ita) 
1997 Alexandre Gontschenkov (Rus)
1996 Michele Bartoli (Ita)
1995 Davide Cassani (Ita)
1994 Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
1993 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)
1992 Gianni Bugno (Ita)
1991 Davide Cassani (Ita)
1990 Davide Cassani (Ita)
1989 Dimitri Konychev (Rus)
1988 Tony Rominger (Swi)
1987 Jean-François Bernard (Fra)
1986 Hubert Seiz (Swi)
1985 Acacio Da Silva (Por)
1984 Ezio Moroni (Ita)
1983 Cesare Cipollini (Ita)
1982 Pierino Gavazzi (Ita)
1981 Pierino Gavazzi (Ita) 
1980 Gianbattista Baronchelli (Ita)
1979 Francesco Moser (Ita)
1978 Bernt Johansson (Swe)
1977 Mario Beccia (Ita)
1976 Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1975 Enrico Paolini (Ita)
1974 Francesco Moser (Ita)
1973 Franco Bitossi (Ita)
1972 Eddy Merckx (Bel)
1971 Gianni Motta (Ita)
1970 Franco Bitossi (Ita)
1969 Gianni Motta (Ita)
1968 Gianni Motta (Ita)
1967 Michele Dancelli (Ita)
1966 Carmelo Preziosi (Ita)
1965 Michele Dancelli (Ita)
1963 Italo Zilioli (Ita)
1962 Bruno Mealli (Ita)
1961 Diego Ronchini (Ita)
1960 Pierino Baffi (Ita)
1959 Ercole Baldini (Ita)
1958 Diego Ronchini (Ita)
1957 Bruno Monti (Ita)
1956 Bruno Monti (Ita)
1955 Nino Defilippis (Ita)
1954 Nino Defilippis (Ita)
1953 Gino Bartali (Ita)
1952 Gino Bartali (Ita)
1951 Luciano Maggini (Ita)
1950 Luciano Maggini (Ita)
1949 Virgilio Salimbeni (Ita)
1948 Fausto Coppi (Ita)
1947 Fausto Coppi (Ita)
1946 Adolfo Leoni (Ita)
1943 Nedo Logli (Ita)
1942 Adolfo Leoni (Ita)
1941 Fausto Coppi (Ita)
1940 Osvadlo Bailo (Ita)
1939 Serafino Biagioni (Ita)
1938 Carrado Ardizzoni (Ita)
1937 Cesare Del Cancia (Ita)
1936 Giuseppe Olmo (Ita)
1935 Aldo Bini (Ita)
1934 Marco Cimatti (Ita)
1931 Glauco Servadei (Ita)
1930 Mario Bonetti (Ita)
1929 Allegro Grandi (Ita)
1928 Alfonso Piccin (Ita)
1927 Domenico Piemontesi (Ita)
1925 Constante Girardengo (Ita)
1924 Pietro Linari (Ita)
1923 Michele Gordini (Ita)
1922 Constante Girardengo (Ita)
1921 Constante Girardengo (Ita)
1920 Giovanni Brunero (Ita)
1919 Constante Girardengo (Ita)
1918 Constante Girardengo (Ita)
1917 Angelo Gremo (Ita)
1914 Ezio Corlaita (Ita)
1913 Alfonso Calzolari (Ita)
1912 Ugo Agostoni (Ita)
1911 Clemente Canepari (Ita)
1910 Luigi Ganna (Ita)
1909 Eberardo Pavesi (Ita)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,