Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Local rider wins Loxton Traders Handicap

Loxton, SA, September 24, 2006

Josh Steele set a new fastest time on the way to victory in the 2006 Riverland Cycling Club Loxton Traders 45km Handicap on Sunday. John Eshman, Angelo Ylia, Amanda Steele and Glen O'Brien were the first to start their battle against the blustery conditions. Ylia and O'Brien broke away from their companions along Habel Road on the first lap, drafting to conserve energy in the wind.

Lara MacKirdy, Peter Evans, Bob Pankhurst and Peter Weston left at 5 minutes as the wind gusts increased to 61km/hr. MacKirdy and Evans looked foreboding as they passed the limit group early on the second lap. Josh Steele, who has been in training for next month's Club Championships, dropped his 11 minute partner Mick Gray as he approached speeds of 60km/hr along Habel Rd on their first lap. Steele went on to pass the rest of the field early on his second lap.

Hamish MacKirdy, who had a 15 minute handicap, rode at time trial pace, dropping Lee Stevens and Craig Ward on the first lap despite their 1 minute advantage. MacKirdy had his sights on Steele as he turned for Loxton on the Paruna Rd, but was forced out of the race with a flat tyre.

Steele continued unchallenged to record his first fastest time victory for the year in 1.16.38 as well as claiming a place on the perpetual trophy. Gray and Lara MacKirdy maintained a steady tempo to hold off the other chasers, with Gray outfoxing Lara MacKirdy to claim second.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Amanda Steele


1 Josh Steele                   1.16.38
2 Mick Gray
3 Lara MacKirdy
4 Angelo Ylia
5 Lee Stevens
6 Craig Ward
7 Peter Evans
8 Bob Pankhurst
9 Glen O'Brien
10 Amanda Steele
11 John Eshman
12 Peter Weston
DNF Hamish MacKirdy

Local results 2006