Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club Club

Modella, VIC, September 16, 2006

Another near perfect spring day at Modella saw a good field assemble ahead for another chance to tackle the suburb's surrounding hills. The A Grade bunch had the hammer down early when Matt Sherwin (BikeNOW) jumped away in the opening kilometre. Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles) was one of the first to bridge, clearly looking for a hard hit out as the Melbourne to Warrnambool looms closer.

Sherwin's early break lasted 10 kilometres, but Chessum jumped away again as soon as the catch was made, and every time the bunch reeled a break in, Chessum would go again. He was still clear at the base of the Heath Hill climb, but was quickly reeled in when mountain bike stars Murray Spink (Giant) and Chris Winn (Spoke'n) forced the pace on the climb. Surprisingly, most of the bunch was able to hang on despite the surge, but a similar effort on the second lap saw the bunch shattered, with only eight riders left to sprint for the win.

Matt Jensen (Specialized) was the favoured sprinter, but was caught out of position when Winn and Spink kicked for the line, and had to settle for third ahead of Chessum. Newly promoted Marc Prutton (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) came close to the podium in his first A Grade ride, finishing in fifth place.

Steve Morrow attacked the B Grade field on the lead in to Heath Hill, with only Simon Lancaster (BikeNOW) thinking an early attack was the way to go. The pair had built a handy lead by the start of the second lap, with only a three man chase group looking like making any inroads.

Once Kurt Jensen (Kathy Watt's Personal Training), Gary Rosengarten (Kennedy Cycle Fit) and Roy Clark (Croydon Cycleworks) had made contact the bunch seemed to surrender. Simon Frost (Fitzroy Cycles) powered across the gap alone however, and once in the lead group never looked like losing. He took the sprint convincingly, ahead of Jensen and Clark.

The C Grade race went to up and coming junior Sean Carruthers (Terry Hammond Cycles). The first time over the hills saw the bunch fragment, with Carruthers setting an impressive pace. The youngster capped off his attacking ride with a good sprint, to lead home Cameron Christiansen, Richard Fuessel and rower Davod McGrath.

The D Grade one lap dash was dominated by a trio of Blackburn juniors, with Luke Petrie taking a good win ahead of Ross Hamilton. Brett Tomlinson got the host club on the podium with his third place finish, just ahead of Blackburn's third rider, Dale Reith.


Men's A Grade 78km  
1 Chris Winn (Dirt Riders) 
2 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders) 
3 Matt Jensen (Carnegie Caulfield) 
4 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield) 
5 Marc Prutton (New Zealand) 
Men's B Grade 78km  
1 Simon Frost (Blackburn) 
2 Kurt Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula) 
3 Roy Clark (Carnegie Caulfield) 
4 Steve Morrow (Carnegie Caulfield) 
5 Gary Rosengarten (Carnegie Caulfield) 

Women's B Grad 
1 Briana James (Carnegie Caulfield) 
C Grade 78km  
1 Sean Carruthers (Carnegie Caulfield) 
2 Cameron Christiansen (Carnegie Caulfield) 
3 Richard Fuessel (Carnegie Caulfield) 
4 David McGrath (Carnegie Caulfield) 
D Grade 39km  
1 Luke Petrie (Blackburn) 
2 Ross Hamikton (Carnegie Caulfield) 
3 Brent Tomlinson (Carnegie Caulfield) 
4 Dale Reith (Blackburn) 
Women's D Grade
1 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield) 

Local results 2006