Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Bathurst Women Tour - NE

NSW, Australia, June 3-4, 2006

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage   Next Stage

Stage 2 - June 3: Criterium

The over night Snow cleared for Day 1 of the Bcc Women Tour in Bathurst today, with some excellent racing in the Stage 1 Time trail, and the second stage criterium, both held on the famous Mt Panorama Motor racing circuit.

The tour is round 5 of the National Road Series for the women, with series leader Vicki Eustace of Canberra looking on track to extend her lead in the series after winning the 7 km individual time trial.

However local star Toireasa Gallagher continued her great recent form on the Mt Panorama circuits when she scored a great solo victory in the afternoon criterium stage to take the lead in General Classification by 43seconds going into tomorrows road stage up Caloola Mountain.

Noted climbers Tiff Cromwell (South Australia) and AIS Rider Amanda Spratt are in striking range of Gallagher and Eustace going into tomorrows final stage. Cromwell's aggressive ride behind Gallagher in the criterium earning her 21sec on the peloton, and suggesting she is in form for her campaign at this years Junior World Championships. While Spratt didn't look to be suffering any ill effect from her quick trip home from the European cycling scene for the Bathurst Tour taking 3rd in the Time Trial.


A Grade
1 Toireasa Gallagher (Bathurst CC)                          
2 Tiffany Cromwell (Norwood CC)                         0.13
3 Monique Hanley (Warragual)                            0.37
4 Vicki Eustace (Canberra CC)                               
5 Belinda Diprose (Lidcombe Auburn CC)                     
B Grade 
1 Glenda Preston (ADF CC)                                   
2 Melanie Mcdonald (Randwick/Botany CC)                     
3 Sandra Beaumont (Southern Highlands CC)                   
4 Anna Johnston (Eurobodalla CC)                            
5 Jill Harris (Bathurst CC)