Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Tour of Connecticut - NE

USA, May 20-22, 2005

2004 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - May 20: New Haven criterium, 40 miles
  • Stage 2 - May 21: Waterbury circuit race, 62 miles
  • Stage 3 - May 22: Torrington-Torrington, 137 miles

Teams announced for Tour of Connecticut

Defending Tour of Connecticut champion Mark McCormack (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutter Home), fresh off of a pair of victories in cycling-mad Belgium, leads an international field of challengers to his title in the 2005 event, May 20-22. Ten professional and eleven amateur eight-man teams will contest this year's three-day race with stages in New Haven, Waterbury and Litchfield Hills/Torrington.

Colavita Olive Oil/Sutter Home brings international flair to aid McCormack's defense with Italian amateur star Davide Frattini, looking to make his professional name on the American Continent, and a pair of Argentine sprinters, JJ Haedo and Gustavo Artacho.

2003 Tour of Connecticut winner David Clinger, now sporting a full-face Maori warrior tattoo that has raised much controversy in the racing world, has returned to the US racing scene after a tough year in Europe. He is the co-leader is of the Webcor Builders Cycling Team alongside T-Mobile International winner Charles Dionne, second overall at the Tour CT last year. Webcor Builders, smarting from its non-selection to April's Tour of Georgia, is coming to the Tour CT looking for a big result.

Another powerhouse squad to watch is the New Jersey-based Navigators Insurance Cycling Team, which has always performed superbly at the Tour CT. Russian sprinter Vassily Davidenko, twice winner of the Housatonic Valley Classic stage, Jeff Louder winner of last year's grueling Waterbury stage and new professional Shawn Milne, third overall and best amateur in 2004, promise to ignite the race. Of note as well from the Navigators, the only Professional Continental Team from the United States in the new UCI classification system, is Colombian climber Cesar Grajales, looking for redemption after a sub-par Tour of Georgia.

Fiordifrutta Cycling Team with white-hot amateur star Mike Dietrich leads the amateur side of the battle. Cannondale bicycle designers and team members Chris Peck and Curt Davis have moved to the other side of the barriers and now direct the team.

2002 US professional champion and Tour de France veteran Chann McRae has returned to the amateur ranks to captain the Weston, CT-based TARGETRAINING team. This new team is made up of experienced international riders, and is fast tracking towards pro status in 2006.

Team TIAA-CREF, a developmental racing program for young professionals, is the brainchild of Tour de France star Jonathon Vaughters. The young pros are returning from a successful European campaign and are led by 23-year old Will Frischkorn.

Massachusetts native Tim Johnson captains the 'Bean Team', Jittery Joe's/Kalahari, making its first-ever Connecticut appearance. 27-year old Johnson is still searching for the power that had made him one of the brightest young prospects from the US.

Start list

Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home       Webcor Builders  
1 Mark McCormack                     11 Charles Dionne
2 Juan Jose Haedo                    12 Bernard van Ulden
3 Davide Frattini                    13 Ben Haldeman
4 Todd Herriott                      14 Lucas Euser
5 Aaron Olson                        15 James Mattis
6 Sebastian Alexandre                16 Marc Collard
7 Gustavo Artacho                    17 Ted Huang
8 Tyler Wren
Fiordifrutta                         Volkswagen-TREK  
21 Jon Hamblen                       31 Alexandre Lavallée
22 Phil Wong                         32 Alexandre Cloutier
23 Mike Dietrich                     33 Jean Sebastien Maheau
24 Chris Rozdilsky                   34 Martin St-Laurent
25 Johs Huseby                       35 Martin Gilbert
26 Dan Timmerman                     36 Mathieu Toulouse
27 Matt White
28 Josh Gewirtz
Navigators Insurance                 Snow Valley pb Seal-On  
41 Chris Baldwin                     51 Josh Taylor
42 Vassili Davidenko                 52 Kyle Wamsley
43 Cesar Grajales                    53 Peter Baker
44 Oleg Grichkine                    54 Ryan DeWald
45 Jeff Louder                       55 Russ Langley
46 Shawn Milne                       56 John Delong
47 Marty Nothstein                   57 Brad Viera
48 Mark Walters                      58 Matt Crane
TIAA-CREF                            Kodak Gallery-Sierra Nevada  
62 Dan Bowman                        71 Dominique Perras
63 Timothy Duggan                    72 Scott Zwizanski
64 Craig Lewis                       73 Hayden Godfrey
65 Bryan Smith                       74 Jackson Stewart
66 Michael Lange                     75 Ben Jacques-Maynes
67 Stefano Barberi                   76 Glen Mitchell
68 Zak Grabowski
Louis Garneau Racing                 McGuire-Langdale  
81 Andrew Knight                     91 Erik Saunders
82 Jason Baer                        92 Colin Beardsley
83 Alec Donahue                      93 Zachary Walker
84 Robbie King                       94 Patrick Dunaway
85 Dan Cassidy                       95 Jason Allen
86 Josh Dillon
87 Joseph Moody
88 Dan Greenfield
Jittery Joe's-Kalahari               SUBWAY  
101 Tim Johnson                      111 Ryan McKenzie
102 Geoff Kabush                     112 Nathanial Cornelius
103 Jonny Sundt                      113 Peter Femal
104 Christian Foster                 114 Kevin Vanes
105 Thad Dulin
106 Bruno Langlois
107 Evan Elken
108 Craig Wilcox
Team pb Banknorth          CCB-Volkswagen  
121 Adam Hodges Myerson              131 Amos Brumble
122 Ari De Wilde                     132 Patrick Walsh
123 Dave Werling                     133 Jake Hollenbach
124 John Hanson                      134 Yahor Buben
125 Mike Norton                      135 Alaisandr Bialiauski
126 Oscar Pineda                     136 Shawn Forsyth
Champion System Racing               Capital Velo Club-Pig Iron Sports  
141 Tony Settle                      151 Ron Fantano
142 Xavie Melendez                   152 Michael McGinley
143 Jerry Kapko                      153 Curtis Eastin
144 Jason Beerman                    154 Anthony Alessio
145 Leo Ventura                      155 William King
146 Roger Aspholm                    156 Peter Petrillo
147 John Chiu                        157 John Legere
148 David John Tonks                 158 Todd Wells
CRCA-Sakonnet Technology             GS Mengoni  
161 Stephen Badger                   171 Eugene Boronow
162 Lee Rosenthal                    172 Jason Bremer
163 Chris Kuhl                       173 Lisban Quintero
164 Johnny Hayes                     174 Andrew Wulfkuhle
165 Alex Ferrero                     175 Scott Kasin
166 Robbie Giannini                  176 Trent Sullivan
167 Bob Weyman
168 Craig Upton
TARGETRAINING                        Independent Fabrication  
181 Marc Anderson                    191 Ben Peters
182 Ryan Blickem                     192 Gregory Montello
183 Anthony Colby                    193 Logan Hodson
184 Bill Elliston                    194 Thomas Young
185 Eneas Freyre                     195 Jonathan Bruno
186 Greg Wolf                        196 Luke Krisch
187 Justin Spinelli                  197 Tim Unkert
188 Alvaro Tardaguila                198 John Funk
North Atlantic Velo-Pedros  
201 Matt Kraus
202 Eric Kinney
203 Eric Pearson
204 Jacob Hacker
205 Alejandro Acton

Past winners

2004 (USA) Mark McCormack (Colavita Olive Oil)
2003 David Clinger (USA) Prime Alliance
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,