Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

71st Coppa Citta’ di Asti - 1.2

Italy, May 3, 2005

2004 Results    Results    Past winners

Australian team report

By Brian Stephens, AIS U23 coach

The AIS Mapei Aqua Australian team consisting of Simon Clarke, Matt Goss, Chris Sutton, Matt Rex, Nic Sanderson and James Meadley, faced the starter in the Coppa di Asti, an international Under 23 race. There was a bit of expectation following Aaron Kemps' win last year in this race.

An almost full field of 196 starters tackled the undulating course in mild dry weather as opposed to last year's rain. Our guys were to ride conservatively as they had only one day to recover from the previous seven days straight of racing in Liberazione and Regioni. Big groups went clear but nothing was able to stay away and a bunch of about 120 riders raced towards the finish in Asti. The Australians did a lot of work to try to control the finish for Nic Sanderson. He was held against the crowd barrier as he tried to pass eventual winner, Fabio Sabatini. He was also passed by Tiziano Dall'Antonio and was a little frustrated at his third placing. Nic is emerging as our next talented sprinter and it should not be long before he gets a win.

Results - 158 km

1 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Pedale Larigiano         3.51.00 (41.039 km/h)
2 Tiziano Dell'Antonia (Ita) Zalf Désirée Fior
3 Nicolas Sanderson (Aus) Australia
4 Marco Bandiera (Ita) Zalf Désirée Fior
5 Emiliano Donadello (Ita) Trevigiani Dynamon
6 Bernardo Riccio (Ita) Pedale Larigiano
7 Matteo Buratto (Ita) Viris Vigevano
8 Emanuele Rizza (Ita) Maltinti Lampadari Solgomma
9 Derik Zampedri (Ita) Trevigiani Dynamon
10 Teddi Turini (Ita) Mcs Bedogni Natalini

Courtesy of

Past winners

2004 Aaron Kemps (Aus) Australian National Team