Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Zimbabwean National Road Championships - CN

Zimbabwe, June 18-19, 2005


Conway Mohamed and Linda Davidson claim titles

By Wayne Davidson

The 2005 Zimbabwe National Road Championships were held at the weekend, with the results going very much according to plan.

Elite Men

A record entry of over 70 riders for the champs saw a tightly contested battle over a demanding 130km course. The early breakaway saw Dean Hayes once again expire himself, as the Cycle Kaya squad sent the troops to the front to contain his margin, and leave him "out to fry". Once Hayes was dispatched with, the pace was set by Dave Martin and the rest of the Cycle Kaya team, which demolished all but seven of the field. With 20km to go, the fearsome climb of Christian Bank proved to be the selection point as three team mates Dave Martin, Wonder Matenje and reigning Champion Conway Mohamed combined to rid themselves of all but two challengers, both Abel Muchenje and Rory Mackie tried in vain to split the group, but Mohamed's team kept it all very tidy for the slightly built climber to turn sprinter and win the small bunch effort quite easily at the death.


Linda Davidson secured her first Ladies title to make the day a successful double score for the Cycle Kaya team. Davidson won her battle in a tactically adept sprint in the finale over her former triathlon rivals Pam Chalmers and Linda Rousseau.


The Zimbabwe Masters title went to defending champion Kevin Wood, who easily won a five man sprint to claim yet another accolade in his all dominant year, which must leave his contemporaries wondering what they need to do to dislodge the perennial Masters winner.


Elite Men - 130 km

Conway Mohamed (Cycle Kaya)
Abel Muchenje 
Wonder Matenje (Cycle Kaya)
Rory Mackie 
Dave Martin (Cycle Kaya)

Elite Women

Linda Davidson (Cycle Kaya)
Pam Chalmers 
Linda Rousseau 


Kevin Wood 
Colin Brain 
Jimmy Jaynes