Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Swiss National Championships - CN

Cham, Switzerland, June 24-26, 2005

Main Page    Results    Previous Day  

Day 3 - June 26: Elite Men's Road Race, 203 km

Phonak go 1-2 in Suisse

Phonak's Martin Elmiger and Alexandre Moos have taken the first two places at the Swiss road championships after the pair broke away in the final stages of the 203 kilometre race, giving Elminger his second national crown. Rounding out the podium was 28 year-old Gerolsteiner rider Marcel Strauss, who finished 43 seconds behind, with his team-mate Markus Zberg outsprinting a three-man group to take fourth.

26 year-old Elminger first won the title four years ago when he was riding for the local Post Swiss team, and finished fifth last year behind current team-mate Gregory Rast, while 32 year-old Moos continues his run of good form from the recent Tour de Suisse, where he finished 11th overall. Moos is also a former winner of the national road title, achieving victory in 2002.

Out of the three podium placegetters, only Moos will be going to the Tour de France.

Results, 203km

1 Martin Elmiger (Phonak Hearing Systems)         4.50.50 (41.879 km/h)
2 Alexandre Moos (Phonak Hearing Systems)                
3 Marcel Strauss (Gerolsteiner)                      0.43
4 Markus Zberg (Gerolsteiner)                        3.47
5 Steve Morabito (VC Mendrisio PL Valli)                 
6 Benedikt Dörig (Team Hörmann)                          
7 Florian Stalder (edsystem-ZVVZ)                    4.37
8 Andreas Dietziker (edvsystem-ZVVZ)                 5.06
9 Gregory Rast (Phonak Hearing Systems)              6.13
10 Gilbert Obrist (GS Saeco Romer's Wetzikon)            
11 Aurelien Clerc (Phonak Hearing Systems)               
12 Daniel Schnider (Phonak Hearing Systems)              
13 Patrick Calcagni (Liquigas-Bianchi)                   
14 Roger Beuchat (Barloworld-Valsir)                     
15 Alberto Tiberio (VC Lugano)                           
16 Roland Reiser (GS Saeco Romer's Wetzikon)             
17 Stefan Trafelet (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)              
18 Danilo Wyss (Bürgis Cycling Team)                     
19 Michael Schär (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)                
20 Johann Tschopp (Phonak Hearing Systems)               
21 Niki Aebersold (Phonak Hearing Systems)               
22 Marco Jimenez (Team Mega-Bike-Macom)                  
23 Marcel Klaus (edsystem-ZVVZ)                          
24 Jerome Cornuz (Team Mega-Bike-Macom)                  
25 Beat Zberg (Gerolsteiner)                             
26 Steve Grossenbacher (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)          
27 David Loosli (Lampre-Caffita)                         
28 Christoph Girschweiler (GS Saeco Romer's Wetzikon)    
29 Fabian Jeker (Saunier Duval)                          
30 Philippe Schnyder (Colombia Sella Italia)             
31 Jan Ramsauer (Team Mega-Bike-Macom)                   
32 Rubens Bertogliati (Saunier Duval)                    
33 Mario Wernli (Bürgis Cycling Team)                    
34 Loic Mühlemann (VC Mendrisio PL Valli)                
35 Michael Albasini (Liquigas-Bianchi)                   
36 Maxime Beney (Team Mega-Bike-Macom)               6.13
37 Steve Bovay (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)                  
38 Fabian Cancellara (Fassa Bortolo)                     
39 Pascal Hungerbühler (Volksbank Leingruber Ideal)      
40 Laurent Arn (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)                  
41 Jimmy Tapparel (GS Saeco Romer's Wetzikon)            
42 Peter Andres (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)                 
43 Guillaume Bourgeois (VC Mendrisio PL Valli)           
44 Steve Zampieri (Phonak Hearing Systems)               
45 Jonas Leib (VC Mendrisio PL Valli)                    
46 Florian Ludi (Team Mega-Bike-Macom)               6.26
47 Raffael Schmid (Fischer BMC)                      6.36
48 Mirco Jaisli (Team Atzmännig Koga miyata)         6.42
49 Stefan Sulser (GS Officine Ghidoni)                   
50 Marcel Schilliger (Hadimec-Rocky Mountain)            
51 Damian Reichlin (GS Rufalex)                      6.47
52 Jan Brunner (RV Uster-Flatera)                    7.20
53 Mario Birrer (Team Atzmännig Koga miyata)             
54 Sascha Urweider (Phonak Hearing Systems)   
98 starters
54 classfied