Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

15th Mediterranean Games - JR

Almeria, Spain, June 24-July 2, 2005

2004 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past games

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - June 29: Individual Time Trial, 28.4km
  • Stage 2 - July 2: Road Race, 141.9km


The Mediterranean Games are held every four years for the nations in the mediterranean basin. From 1991 the games are held the year following the Olympic Games.

The games include aquatics, archery, athletics, basketball, bowls, boxing, canoe-kayak, cycling, equestrian sports, fencing, golf, gymnastics, handball, handisports, judo, karate, rowing, sailing, shooting, table tennis, tennis, volleyball, weightlifting and wrestling.

The cycling events are time trial and road race for men and are open for U23 and elite riders without contract aged 19 to 29 years. Each country is entitled to take part in the road race with eight riders, and in the time trial with two.

The time trial will take place on Wednesday 29th June. A semi-urban route has been prepared, placing the start and finish in the avenue Avenida Mediterráneo. The route will pass through the University, Costacabana, and the Mediterranean Village returning by way of El Alquián, the Airport, Venta Gaspar and again the same road back from Costacabana to Almería. The route is more or less flat but exposed to winds from the sea.

The road race, this will take place on Saturday 2nd July and it will pass through the West area (Roquetas de Mar, El Ejido, Adra, Almerimar, La Mojonera, Vícar). The start and finish are located in the avenue Federico García Lorca, measuring a total of 141.9 km. It’s highest point is the Cruce de Félix, 20 km away from the finish.

In the previous games Spaniard Sergio Escobar won the time trial and and Italian Denis Bertolini the road race.

Start list

Time Trial

Start     Number  Name
18:30:00     31   Eladio Sanchez Prado (Spain)
18:33:00    102   Mehmet Mutlu (Turkey)
18:36:00     62   Roberto Traficante (Italy)
18:39:00     51   Panagiotis Potsakis (Greece)
18:42:00     12   Samir Kovacevic (Bosnia & Herzegovina)
18:45:00     42   Florian Morizot (France)
18:48:00     91   Aymen Ben Hassine (Tunisia)
18:51:00     32   Jesus Tendero Marcos (Spain)
18:54:00    101   Kemal Kucukbay (Turkey)
18:57:00     61   Tiziano Dall'antonia (Italy)
19:00:00     71   Wail Al Ganduz (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)
19:03:00     21   Martin Cotar (Croatia)
19:06:00     52   Ioannis Tamouridis (Greece)
19:09:00     11   Elvis Jahic (Bosnia & Herzegovina)
19:12:00     41   Emilien Berges (France)
19:15:00     92   Rafaa Chtioui (Tunisia)

Road Race

Bosnia-Herzegovina             Croatia

11 Vladimir Kuvalja            21 Martin Cotar
12 Elvis Jahic                 22 David Demanuelle
13 Samir Kovacevic             23 Emanuel Kiserlovski
                               24 Robert Kiserlovski
                               25 Zvonimir Pokupec

Spain                          France

31 Unai Elorriaga Zubiaur      41 Emilien Berges
32 Francisco Gutierrez Alv.    42 Alexandre Cabrera
33 Javier Mejias Leal          43 Mathieu Ladagnous
34 Javier Moreno Bazan         44 Jean-Marc Marino
35 J. Antonio Redondo Ramos    45 Florian Morizot
36 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil      46 Mathieu Perget
37 Eladio Sanchez Prado        47 Stephane Poulhies
38 Jesus Tendero Marcos        48 Benoit Sinner

Greece                         Italy

51 Nikolaos Kaloudakis         61 Eros Capecchi
52 Minas Malatos               62 Tiziano Dall'antonia
53 Alexandros Mavridis         65 Fabio Sabatini
54 Panagiotis Potsakis         66 Mauro Santambrogio
55 Ioannis Tamouridis          67 Carlo Scognamiglio
56 Georgios Tentsos            68 Roberto Traficante

Libya                          Serbia and Montenegro

81 Wail Al Ganduz              91 Aleksandar Jugovic
                               92 Goran Smelcerovic
                               93 Dragan Spasic
                               94 Ivan Stevic

Tunisia                        Turkey

101 Aymen Ben Hassine          111 M.Mustafa Karaselek
102 Rafaa Chtioui              112 Kemal Kucukbay
                               113 Mustafa Maral
                               114 Mehmet Mutlu
                               115 Orhan Sahin
                               116 Behcet Usta

Past games

2001 Tunis (Tunisia)
1997 Bari (Italy)
1993 Languedoc (France)
1991 Athens (Greece)
1987 Latakia (Cyprus)
1983 Casablanca (Morocco)
1979 Split (Yugoslavia)
1975 Algiers (Algeria)
1971 Izmir (Turkey)
1967 Tunis (Tunisia)
1963 Naples (Italy)
1959 Beirut (Lebanon)
1955 Barcelona (Spain)
1951 Alexandria (Egypt)