Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

42nd GP Kanton Aargau/Gippingen - 1.HC

Switzerland, June 5, 2005

2004 Results   Results    Past winners

Moos gets the better of Ullrich

Swiss rider Alexandre Moos (Phonak) has beaten Jan Ullrich (T-Mobile) and Marcel Strauss (Gerolsteiner) in a three man sprint to win the 42nd GP Kanton Aargau in Gippingen, Switzerland. The 196 km race was dominated by an 11 man breakaway, from which these three riders came. The peloton finished 6'22 down, led home by Phonak's Aurélien Clerc.

115 riders started the race at 11:15, with 10 laps of a 19.6 km course on the program. Swiss rider Stefan Felder (Saeco-Romer's-Wetzikon) was the first to attack, and at the end of the first lap he had a 1'20 lead over the peloton. On the second lap, Benjamin Levécot (RAGT) bridged up to Felder, and by the end of the lap, they had 6'57 on the slow moving peloton. On lap 3, that grew to 9'23, as Gerolsteiner and T-Mobile began to marshall themselves on the front of the peloton.

The two leaders continued in front, sharing the sprint and mountain primes, and over the next few laps, the peloton started to bring them back. At the halfway point (98 km), the gap was 4 minutes and falling, and on lap 6, Felder had to let Levécot go on his own. On the seventh lap, both riders were caught and dropped as a new 12 man lead group formed, containing eventual top three Moos, Ullrich, and Strauss, along with Muto and Niemec (Miche), Veikkanen (Française Des Jeux), Bertolini (Domina Vacanze), Bencik (Ed' System-Zvvz), M, Zberg (Gerolsteiner), Zampieri (Phonak) and Schwab (Saeco-Romer's-Wetzikon).

With three laps to go, this new break had over a minute on the field, but a concerted chase by Panaria had pegged the leaders back to 35 seconds with two to go. That was as close as it got, and over the penultimate 19.6 km lap, the gap blew out to 3'22 as the chase ran out of steam. On the final lap, Moos, Ullrich, and Strauss attacked out of the lead group and were able to put time into the rest of the break. Moos was the best in the sprint ahead of a strong Ullrich, with Strauss taking third place.

Results - 196 km

1 Alexandre Moos (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems         4.54.39 (39.91 km/h)
2 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile Team                            
3 Marcel Strauss (Swi) Gerolsteiner                          
4 Pascquale Muto (Ita) Miche                             0.17
5 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Française Des Jeux               0.19
6 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Domina Vacanze              0.21
7 Petr Bencik (Cze) Ed' System-Zvvz                      0.26
8 Markus Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner                        0.31
9 Steve Zampieri (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems                
10 Hubert Schwab (Swi) Saeco-Romer's-Wetzikon                
11 Przemyslaw Niemec (Pol) Miche                         0.33
12 Aurélien Clerc (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems           6.22
13 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Ed' System-Zvvz                   
14 Arnaud Gerard (Fra) Française Des Jeux                    
15 Sergio Marinangeli (Ita) SDM                              
16 Denis Bertolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone-Adria Mobil          
17 Ivan Fanelli (Ita) Team L.P.R.                            
18 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Tech           
19 Jan Kuyckx (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                          
20 Slawomir Kohut (Pol) Miche                                
21 Jörg Ludewig (Ger) Domina Vacanze                         
22 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone-Adria Mobil         
23 David Boucher (Fra) Tech           
24 Mirko Allegrini (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare           
25 Nick Gates (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto                          
26 Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                   
27 David Mcpartland (Aus) Tenax-Nobili Rubinetterie          
28 Leon Van Bon (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                        
29 Marcel Klaus (Swi) Ed' System-Zvvz                        
30 Dimitri Konyshev (Rus) Team L.P.R.                        
31 Freddy Bichot (Fra) Française Des Jeux                    
32 Kamil Vrana (Cze) Ed' System-Zvvz                         
33 Milan Kadlec (Cze) Ed' System-Zvvz                        
34 Florian Stadler (Swi) Ed' System-Zvvz                     
35 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) Française Des Jeux                 
36 Angelo Furlan (Ita) Domina Vacanze                        
37 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Française Des Jeux                    
38 Christo Girschweiler (Swi) Saeco-Romer's-Wetzikon         
39 Fabien Sanchez (Fra) Française Des Jeux                   
40 Sébastien Minard (Fra) R.A.G.T. Semences                  
41 Antonio D Aniello (Ita) Miche                         6.26
42 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Tenax-Nobili Rubinetterie        
43 Benjamin Levecot (Fra) R.A.G.T. Semences                  
44 Moises Aldape (Mex) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare             
45 Scott Davis (Aus) Tenax-Nobili Rubinetterie               
46 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Tenax-Nobili Rubinetterie          
47 Massimo Amichetti (Ita) Miche                             
48 Bert Roesems (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                        
49 Francesco Failli (Ita) SDM                                
50 Wim Vansevenant (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                     
51 Andrea Moletta (Ita) Gerolsteiner                         
52 Luca Solari (Ita) Domina Vacanze                          
53 Murilo Anton Fischer (Bra) SDM                            
54 Daniele Nardello (Ita) T-Mobile Team                      
55 Daniel Schnider (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems              
56 Volker Ordovski (Ger) Gerolsteiner                        
57 Gregory Rast (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems                 
58 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team                            
59 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems               
60 Cristiano Frattini (Ita) Tenax-Nobili Rubinetterie        
61 André Korff (Ger) T-Mobile Team                           
62 Tobias Steinhauser (Ger) T-Mobile Team                    
63 Stephan Schreck (Ger) T-Mobile Team                       
64 Steffen Wesemann (Ger) T-Mobile Team                      
65 Ben Day (Aus) Tech                 
66 Christian Murro (Ita) Tenax-Nobili Rubinetterie           
67 Cadel Evens (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto                         
68 Fortunato Baliani (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare         
69 Aitor Galdos (Spa) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare              
70 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto                   
71 Beat Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner                         6.36
72 Benjamin Baumgartner (Swi) Saeco-Romer's-Wetzikon    12.14
73 Sandro Germann (Swi) Saeco-Romer's-Wetzikon               

Past winners

2004 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Fassa Bortolo  
2003 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
2002 Giuseppe Palumbo (Ita) De Nardi-Pasta Montegrappa
2001 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank
2000 Steffen Wesemann (Ger) Team Telekom

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl,