Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Euskal Bizikleta - 2.HC

Spain, June 1-5, 2005

2004 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - June 1: Eibar - Sopelana, 164.8km
  • Stage 2 - June 2: Sopelana - Tolosa , 181.5km
  • Stage 3 - June 3: Tolosa - Strio. de Oro , 135.8km
  • Stage 4a - June 4: Murgia-Zuia - Abadiño , 89km
  • Stage 4b - June 4: Elorrio - Abadiño (Matiena) ITT , 13.7km
  • Stage 5 - June 5: Abadiño - Arrate (Eibar) , 154.8km

Etxebarria leads Liberty at Euskal Bizikleta

David Etxebarria will lead the Liberty Seguros-Würth team in the Euskal Bizikleta stage race, which starts today in Eibar. Etxebarria won this event in 1999 and will head a strong team including Ángel Vicioso, winner of two stages of the 2004 edition.

This being a Spanish race, Liberty Seguros management says the team wants to make a good showing despite the race being sandwiched between two ProTour races, the Giro d'Italia and the Critérium du Dauphiné Libéré, which starts June 5.

Directeur sportif Marino Lejaretta said he expects, "a race with short and nervous stages, very spectacular and difficult to control."

Etxebarria said he is a bit lacking in race preparation this year, but the race is in his native Basque country, and that is a major motivator. "My next objective in the Tour of Switzerland, but I always like to do well when I ride at home," said Etxebarria, "and even more so this time, as the time trial passes in front of my parents' house."

Etxebarria was fourth this past weekend at the GP Llodio, and expects the winner there to be a major contender. "As we saw in Llodio, David Herrero has a step up on everyone else. Then you have to look out for Barloworld with Astarloa, Arreitunaindia and Cárdenas, and Pascual Rodríguez's Comunidad Valenciana. For our part, Ángel Vicioso demonstrated in Llodio that he is very strong now, and though I'm not the strongest, I can have tactical opportunities and probably take advantage of a breakaway, because it's not always the strongest that wins there."

Liberty Seguros-Würth will field David Etxebarria, Ángel Vicioso, Carlos Barredo, Jesus Hernández, Dani Navarro, Luis León Sanchez, Giampaolo Caruso, and René Andrle.

Start list

Liberty Seguros-Würth Team         Euskaltel-Euskadi
1 René Andrle (Cze)                11 Joseba Albizu (Spa)
2 Carlos Barredo (Spa)             12 Mikel Artetxe (Spa)
3 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita)           13 Aitor Gonzalez (Spa)
4 David Etxebarria (Spa)           14 David Herrero (Spa)
5 Jesus Hernandez (Spa)            15 Markel Irizar (Spa)
6 Daniel Navarro (Spa)             16 Inaki Isasi (Spa)
7 Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa)          17 Antton Luengo (Spa)
8 Angel Vicioso (Spa)              18 Aketza Peña (Spa)
Saunier Duval-Prodir               Comunidad Valenciana
21 Juan Jose Cobo (Spa)            31 José Adrian Bonilla (CRc)
22 Iñigo Cuesta (Spa)              32 Angel Luis Casero (Spa)
23 David De La Fuente (Spa)        33 Adolfo Garcia Quesada (Spa)
24 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Spa)     34 Eladio Jimenez (Spa)
25 Arkaitz Duran (Spa)             35 David Latasa (Spa)
26 Fabian Jeker (Swi)              36 Javier Pascual Rodriguez (Spa)
28 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa)         37 David Muñoz (Spa)
                                   38 Carlos Zarate (Spa)
Relax Fuenlabrada                  Kaiku
41 Jose Almagro (Spa)              51 Jorge Azanza (Spa)
42 Nacor Burgos (Spa)              52 Yon Bru (Spa)
43 Jorge Garcia (Spa)              53 Gustavo Cesar (Spa)
44 Raul Garcia De Mateo (Spa)      54 Dionisio Galparsoro (Spa)
45 Julio Lopez (Spa)               55 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa)
46 Iban Mayoz (Spa)                56 Ruben Oarbeascoa (Spa)
47 Lubos Pelanek (Cze)             57 Adrian Palomares (Spa)
48 Luis Perez (Spa)                58 Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga (Spa)
Team Barloworld-Valsir             Agritubel
61 Pedro Arreitunandia (Spa)       71 Mickaël Buffaz (Fra)
62 Igor Astarloa (Spa)             72 Gilles Canouet (Fra)
63 Félix Cardenas (Col)            73 Nicolas Crosbie (Fra)
64 Stefano Cavallari (Ita)         74 Benjamin Jhonson (Aus)
65 Ryan Cox (RSA)                  75 Christophe Laurent (Fra)
66 Vladimir Efimkin (Rus)          76 José Alberto Martinez (Spa)
67 David George (RSA)              77 Cedric Coutouly (Fra)
68 David Plaza (Spa)               
R.A.G.T. Semences                  Team L.P.R.
81 Eric Berthou (Fra)              91 Elio Aggiano (Ita)
82 Renaud Dion (Fra)               92 Daniele De Paoli (Ita)
83 Nicolas Dulac (Fra)             93 Aitor Hernandez (Spa)
84 Hubert Dupont (Fra)             94 Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita)
85 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra)        95 Daniele Masolino (Ita)
86 Ludovic Martin (Fra)            96 Luca Nardello (Ita)
87 Christophe Rinero (Fra)         97 Mauro Santambrogio (Ita)
88 Nicolas Reynaud (Fra)           98 Pavel Tonkov (Rus)
Acqua & Sapone-Adria Mobil         Naturino-Sapore di Mare
101 Santo Anza (Ita)               111 Sergio Barbero (Ita)
102 Alexandr Arekeev (Rus)         112 Alessandro Bertuola (Ita)
103 Alessandro D'andrea (Ita)      113 Mario De Sarraga (Spa)
104 Alessandro Donati (Ita)        114 Alessio Galletti (Ita)
105 Jure Golcer (Slo)              115 Cristian Gasperoni (Ita)
106 Bo Hamburger (Den)             116 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita)
107 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita)        117 Massimiliano Mori (Ita)
108 Mariano Piccoli (Ita)          118 Filippo Simeoni (Ita)
121 Beñat Albizuri (Spa)           
122 Gorka Arrizabalaga (Spa)       
123 Jesus Del Nero (Spa)           
124 Dailos Diaz (Spa)              
125 Gustavo Dominguez (Spa)        
126 Xabat Ochotorena (Spa)         
127 Ruben Perez (Spa)              
128 Aaron Villegas (Spa)   

Past winners

2004 Roberto Heras (Spa) Liberty Seguros   
2003 Jose Antonio Pecharroman (Spa) Paternina-Costa de Almeria
2002 Mikel Zarrabeitia (Spa) ONCE-Eroski 
2001 Juan Carlos Domínguez Domínguez (Spa) 
2000 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
1999 David Etxeberria Alkorta (Spa) ONCE-Deutsche Bank
1998 Abraham Olano (Spa) Banesto
1997 Abraham Olano (Spa) Banesto
1996 Miguel Indurain (Spa) Banesto
1995 Jewgeni Berzin (Rus) Gewiss
1994 Stefano Della-Santa (Ita) Mapei
1993 Pjotr Ugrumow (Lat) Mecair
1992 Franco Chioccioli (Ita) GB-MG Boys
1991 Gianni Bugno (Ita) Château d'Ax

Previously : Criterium de Côte d'Arrate (1941-1990)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,