Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

7th GP Chiasso - 1.1

Switzerland, February 26, 2005

2004 Results    Results    Past winners

Kirchen wins in Switzerland

Kim Kirchen (Fassa Bortolo)
Photo ©: Sirotti
Click for larger image

Fassa Bortolo's Kim Kirchen has triumphed in the GP Chiasso, ridden in the Italian region of Switzerland. Kirchen beat Giuliano Figueras (Lampre - Caffita) and Michael Rogers (Quickstep) in a 22 man sprint, after being helped by his teammates Frigo and Gustov in the finale.

"I have really an excellent physical condition," said Kirchen. "Although the pain in the back reappears every so often, like last week, but fortunately it goes away again. I thank the team with all my heart that put me in the best position to be able to exploit my fast finish. Now I will aim to do well in Paris-Nice and in the second part of the Belgian classics.

"The guys raced with their head and with their legs," said Fassa Bortolo's team director Alberto Volpi. "Kirchen is in excellent shape and finished off a formidable piece of work by the team."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti


1 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo                           4.28.48 (38.593 km/h)
2 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Lampre - Caffita
3 Michael Rogers (Aus) Quickstep
4 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Liquigas - Bianchi
5 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner
6 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Tenax
7 Antonio Bucciero (Ita) Acqua & Sapone - Adria Mobil
8 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Crédit Agricole
9 Sergey Lagutin (Uzb) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
10 Andrea Noè (Ita) Liquigas - Bianchi
11 David Moncoutié (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
12 Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Quickstep
13 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
14 Bingen Fernandez (Spa) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
15 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Ceramica Panaria
16 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Lampre - Caffita
17 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria
18 Volodymir Gustov (Ukr) Fassa Bortolo
19 Mikel Astarloza Chaurreau (Spa) AG2r Prévoyance
20 Cristian Gasperoni (Ita) Naturino - Sapore di Mare
21 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance
22 Hubert Dupont (Fra) R.A.G.T Semences
23 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ceramica Panaria                        0.10
24 Domenico Passuello (Ita) Amore & Vita - Beretta - Polska         1.03
25 Alexandre Bazhenov (Rus) Naturino - Sapore di Mare
26 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance
27 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                             1.04
28 Vladimir Miholjevic (Cro) Liquigas - Bianchi                     1.47
29 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Crédit Agricole
30 Daniel Atienza Urendez (Spa) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone   2.26
31 Armando Rupa (Ita) Miche
32 Inigo Chaurreau Bernardez (Spa) AG2r Prévoyance                  4.16
33 Laurent Lefevre (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
34 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
35 Sébastien Joly (Fra) Crédit Agricole
36 Luca Solari (Ita) Domina Vacanze                                 5.28
37 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
38 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Saunier Duval - Prodir
39 Frédéric Mainguenaud (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
40 Massimo Codol (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
41 Roberto Petito (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
42 Andreas Matzbacher (Aut) Lampre - Caffita
43 Francesco Failli (Ita) Naturino - Sapore di Mare
44 Gustav Erik Larsson (Swe) Fassa Bortolo
45 Mauro Facci (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
46 Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Quickstep
47 Francisco Javier Vila Errandonea (Spa) Lampre - Caffita
48 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Tenax
49 Eric Leblacher (Fra) Crédit Agricole
50 Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago
51 Saul Raisin (USA) Crédit Agricole
52 Simon Gerrans (Aus) AG2r Prévoyance
53 Giairo Ermetti (Ita) Miche
54 Nicolas Portal (Fra) AG2r Prévoyance
55 Augustin Alonso Fernandez (Spa) Comunidad Valenciana
56 Leonardo Moser (Ita) Acqua & Sapone - Adria Mobil
57 Elio Aggiano (Ita) Team LPR
59 Markus Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner
60 Davide Bramati (Ita) Quickstep
61 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone - Adria Mobil
62 Andrea Moletta (Ita) Gerolsteiner
64 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Lampre - Caffita

Starters: 176
Classified: 64

Past winners

2004 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Alessio-Bianchi
2003 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Panaria
2002 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Lampre
2001 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
2000 Giuliano Figueras (Ita)