Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Jayco Tour of Tasmania - NE

Australia, August 17-21, 2005

2002 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - August 17: Launceston Silverdome - Grindelwald, 49.8 km
  • Stage 2 - August 17: Grindelwald - Bridport, 93.9 km
  • Stage 3 - August 18: Scottsdale criterium,
  • Stage 4 - August 18: Scottsdale - Lilydale, 41.2 km
  • Stage 5 - August 19: Deloraine - Sheffield, 54.9 km
  • Stage 6 - August 19: Sheffield kermesse,
  • Stage 7 - August 20: George Town criterium,
  • Stage 8 - August 20: George Town - Beauty Point, 47.5 km
  • Stage 9 - August 21: Launceston criterium, 34 km

Jayco Tour of Tasmania this week

By Rod Morris in Launceston

Robert McLachlan (C)
Photo ©: Shane Goss
Click for larger image

Tattersall's Cup leader Robert McLachlan can expect plenty of pressure in this week's Jayco Tour of Tasmania (Australia), which starts in Launceston on Wednesday, August 17. McLachlan performed well in the recent Tour of Gippsland, winning four of nine stages, but finishing 33rd overall because of a chain mishap in Stage 6. With the top 10 riders in the Tattersall's Cup earning automatic starts - plus financial incentives - for the Tour of Queensland in late October, this week's tour will be hectic.

In a change from previous years, when the series was based around one-day races, this year's Tattersall's Cup features three tours, climaxing with the Tour of the Murray River from August 31-September 4. The Tour of Tasmania will include nine stages, encompassing 428.3 km and including 61 intermediate sprints and 14 hill climbs. The tour will start at the Launceston Silverdome and head on a short but testing 49.8 km stage towards Grindelwald, and in the afternoon, riders will be tested further with a 93.9 km stage from Grindelwald to Bridport - the longest stage of this week's event.

Thursday's schedule of the tour will include a criterium in Scottsdale and a 41.2 km stage from Scottsdale to Lilydale. On Friday, riders will be challenged severely from Deloraine to Sheffield, a 54.9 km stage which includes the infamous "Heartbreak Hill."

There will be little respite for the field with an afternoon kermesse around the streets of Sheffield. Day four will include a criterium in George Town and a 47.5 km "sprint" from George Town to Beauty Point and the tour will conclude on Sunday afternoon with a 34 km criterium in Launceston around an area known as the Brickfields Reserve.

A field of 84 riders has been attracted for the tour, including McLachlan, who represented Australia at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, the recent winner of the Tour of Gippsland, Gordon McCauley of New Zealand, Australian champ David McKenzie, Athens gold medal Olympian Peter Dawson, ace Victorian Robert Tighello and top NSW rider Peter Milostic.

But if the mainlanders and the New Zealand visitors think they are going to get everything their own way, they'd better think again. 20 Tasmanian riders are amongst the entries, including Matt Goss who was added to the field only yesterday. Goss, a winner of two junior world track medals last year, upstaged a class field in December when he won the third annual Launceston International Classic. He has just returned to Australia from an extensive overseas campaign, including a bold showing in the Tour of China.

Joining Goss to carry the Tasmanian flag will be the Sulzberger brothers, Bernard and Wesley, who finished fifth and ninth respectively in the Tour of Gippsland, Matthew Rice, who scored two third placings in the same event and Caleb Manion, who will be extra keen to atone for a fall in the opening tour a fortnight ago.

Start list


Past winners

2004 Not held
2003 Not held
2002 Luke Roberts (Aus) Rio Coffee 
2001 Not held
2000 Glen Chadwick (Qld)
1999 Cadel Evans (Vic)
1998 Cadel Evans (Vic)
1997 Alan Iacuone (Vic)
1996 Stephen Hodge (ACT)
The Examiner Tour of the North  
1991 Grant Rice (Tas )
1990 Brian Fowler (NZl)
1989 Not Held 
1988 Kevetoslav Palov (NSW)
1987 Barney St George (NSW)
1986 Stephen Hodge (Vic)
1985 Michael Lynch (Vic)
1984 Jack Swart (NZl)
1983 Wayne Hildred (Vic)
1982 Wayne Dellar (Vic)
1981 Murray Hall (Vic)
1980 Geoff Skaines (NSW)
1979 John Trevorrow (Vic)
1978 Michael Wilson (Tas)
1977 Garry Sutton (NSW)
1976 Remo Sansonetti (Vic)
1975 Remo Sansonetti (Vic)
1974 Remo Sansonetti (Vic)
1973 Barry Ulyatt (NZl)
1972 Don Allan (Vic)
1971 Russell Tankard (Vic)
1970 Don Allan (Vic)
1969 Kerry Wood (Tas)
1968 Kevin Morgan (Tas)
1967 Alf Baker (NZl)
1966 Don Wilson (Vic)
1965 Ray Bilney (Vic)
1964 Mal Powell (Vic)
1963 Vic Brown (Vic)
1962 Vic Brown (Vic)
1961 Allan Grindal (Vic)
1960 Col Hymus (Vic)
1957-1959 No Tour 
1956 Jim Nevin (Tas)
1955 Neil Geraghty (NZL)
1954 Colin McKay (Vic)
The Mercury Tour of Tasmania  
1963 Peter Panton (Vic)
1962 Ron Murray (Tas)
1961 Ron Murray (Tas)
1960 John O'Sullivan (Vic)
1959 Peter Panton (Vic)
1958 Peter Panton (Vic)
1957 Russell Mockridge (Vic)
1956 Eddie Smith (Vic)
1955 I. Greenfield (Scotland)
1954 Roger Arnold (NSW)
Original Tour of Tasmania
1930 Sir Hubert Opperman (Vic)