Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

20th Veenendaal - Veenendaal - 1.HC

Netherlands, April 15, 2005

2004 Results   Results    Past winners

Van Schalen wins five up sprint

Winner Paul Van Schalen (AXA) post race
Photo ©: Bert Geerts
Click for larger image

Dutchman Paul van Schalen (AXA) has won the 20th Veenendaal - Veenendaal, an hors categorie race that is part of the UCI's European Continental Tour. Van Schalen beat Dean Podgornik (Tenax) and Ruslan Ivanov (Domina Vacanze) in a five man sprint, that finished just a few seconds ahead of a chasing group. The winning break formed at 20 km to go, and also contained Bart Dockx (Davitamon - Lotto), Gerben L÷wik (Rabobank) and Nico Eeckhout (Chocolade Jacques), although the latter punctured and had to settle for 8th place.

Last year's second place getter, Robbie McEwen (Davitamon-Lotto), abandoned the race due to cramps, according his team. There were reports in some media that McEwen had heart rhythm problems, but his team said that he simply wasn't in good enough condition to do two hard races so close to each other (including the Scheldeprijs on Wednesday). It's expected that he'll be fit in time for the Giro d'Italia in three weeks.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by DCP/Bert Geerts

Results - 209 km

1 Paul Van Schalen (Ned) AXA                                           4.54.59
2 Dean Podgornik (Slo) Tenax                                                  
3 Ruslan Ivanov (Mda) Domina Vacanze                                          
4 Bart Dockx (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto                                          
5 Gerben L÷wik (Ned) Rabobank                                                 
6 Jurgen Van Loocke (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago                       0.04
7 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank                                              
8 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim                           
9 Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Shimano - Memory Corp                               
10 Petr Bencik (Cze) eD'system - ZVVZ                                         
11 Michele Gobbi (Ita) Domina Vacanze                                         
12 MatthÚ Pronk (Ned) - SportsTech                            
13 Marvin Van Der Pluijm (Ned)                                  
14 Wim Van Huffel (Bel) Davitamon - Lotto                                     
15 Piotr Chmielewski (Pol) Intel-Action                                       
16 Niels Scheuneman (Ned) Rabobank                                            
17 Theo Eltink (Ned) Rabobank                                                 
18 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim                       
19 Peter Olde Dubbelink (Ned) L÷wik Meubelen - van Losser Installatiegroep    
20 Niki Terpstra (Ned) AXA                                                    
21 Rudy Vriend (Ned) Bert Story - Piels                                       
22 Bjorn Hoeben (Ned)                                           
23 Jelle Van Groezen (Ned)                                      
24 Rudi Kemna (Ned) Shimano - Memory Corp                                     
25 Arno Wallaard (Ned) Bert Story - Piels                                     
26 Jorrit Walgien (Ned) Fondas Imabol Doorisol                                
27 Gerben Nijmeijer (Ned) L÷wik Meubelen - van Losser Installatiegroep        
28 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned)                                
29 Berry Nagelhout (Ned) L÷wik Meubelen - van Losser Installatiegroep         
30 Tom De Meyer (Ned) Fondas Imabol Doorisol                                  
Classified: 30

Past winners

2004 Simone Cadamuro (Ita) De Nardi        207 kms in 4.40.29 (44.28 km/h)
2003 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Lotto-Domo         209 kms in 4.34.14 (45.61 km/h)
2002 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Rabobank         209 kms in 4.52.21 (42.976 km/h)
2001 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank        209 kms in 4.45.48 (43.9 km/h)
2000 Steven de Jongh (Ned) Rabobank        212 kms in 5.11.08 (40.8 km/h)
1999 Tristan Hoffman (Ned) TVM-Farm Frites 200 kms in 5.07.43 (39 km/h)
1998 Frank Hoj  (Den) Palmans-Ideal        209 kms in 4.56.24
1997 Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) TVM
1996 Andrej Tchmil (Mda) Lotto
1995 Olaf Ludwig (Ger) Team Telekom
1994 Vjatcheslav Elimov (Rus) WordPerfect
1993 Rob Mulders (Ned) WordPerfect
1992 Jacques Hangraaf (Ned) Panasonic
1991 (2) Wiebren Veenstra (Ned) Buckler
1990 Wiebren Veesntra (Ned) Buckler
1989 Jean-Paul Van Poppel (Ned) Panasonic
1988 Ronny Vlassaks (Bel) Superconfex
1987 Johan Capiot (Bel) Roland
1986 No race
1985 Joop Zoetemelk (Ned) Kwantumhallen

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,