Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Athens Twilight Criterium- NE

Athens, GA, USA, April 30, 2005

Results    Past winners

Saturday evening time trial

Men's winner Vasili Davidenko (Navigators)
Photo ©: Robert Laybourn
Click for larger image

Riders competed from 12pm to 7pm each hour, in heats of eight. The preliminary heats were 10km time trials. The eight winners of the preliminary heats returned at 9pm for a 5km time trial. The first place rider won his choice of $1,000 or a CompuTrainer.

Karl Menzies (Advantage Benefit Endeavor) took out the main prize, and said after his win: "It was awesome. It was a lot of stuff to cart around to watch eight people; but the crowd, everyone yelling and screaming - it's great because it's so hard. I didn't enjoy it. I enjoyed the event, but the pain attached to it wasn't fun. This is an awesome town. It's my first time here and the first time to do The Athens Twilight and I'm really looking forward to it." Second place won $600 and third place won $400.

Kevin Attkisson (Texas Roadhouse) took second, and was another who thought the event was a great experience - "It was lots of fun. It's nice for people to stand right next to the event; so often the race just goes by. Tonight the crowd was really involved. It's also an interesting way to place people at the start line. Everybody has a chance in their heat, and it's a fun type of event. The payout was fantastic! It's been great for the past few days here in the south " In addition, all of the eight finalists have earned a front row spot at the Saturday night criterium.

Twilight Criterium

In the women's race, Shannon Hutchison found herself in a break with no other teammaates, so she had to take adavantage of the train that had formed and play a tactical waiting game. She made her winning move when Quark attacked on the backstretch, hopping onto the back of the Quark Express and giving her the position to take the win. The now-current leader in the Georgia Cup Series was ecstatic after the race, saying "This is definitely the best victory. My parents are here, and my fiance is here too."

In the men's race, Vassili Davidenko rode an amazing race with a solo break that lasted the majority of the event. He won several primes and soloed across the finish line. Post-race, Davidenko said; " Today I felt really strong and I took a lot of risks. I was willing to work without breaks." Davidenko also won the Porterfield Tire Fastest Lap. The provisional leader of the Sprint Backstretch point-a-lap was Danny Pate of Jelly Belly Pool Gel.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Robert Laybourn


Pro Men

1 Vassili Davidenko (Rus) Navigators
2 Ivan Dominguez (USA) Health Net
3 Alejandro Action () SBR
4 Richard England (USA) Advantage Benefits/Endeavor
5 Kyle Gritters (USA) Team Seasilver
6 John Murphy (USA) Krystal/SCV
7 John Lieswyn (USA) Helath Net
8 Danny Pate (USA) Jelly Belly-PoolGel
9 Gord Fraser (Can) HealthNet
10 Dave McCook (USA) Jelly Belly-PoolGel
11 Daniel Schmatz (USA) Team Seasilver
12 Brice Jones (USA) jelly belly-pool gel
13 Peter Lopinto (USA) Team Seasilver
14 Chris Frederick (USA) Aerospace Engineering
15 Mark Hekman (USA)Savage Hill Cycling
16 John Durango (USA) JC Investorys
17 Diego Garavito (Col) Outdoor Life
18 Curtis Gunn (SA) Team Seasilver
19 William Cuello (USA) Aerospace Engineering
20 Frank Travieso (USA) MCNA Customs
21 Radisa Cubric (USA) Aerospace Engineering
22 Andrew Crater (USA) Team Wheel Sproket
23 Kyle Wamsley (USA) Snow Valley
24 Karl Menzies (Aus) Advantage Benefits Endeavor
25 Marc Anderson (USA) Locos
26 Frank Pipp (USA) Advantage Benefits Endeavor
27 Jonny Sundt (USA) Jiterry Joes-Kalahari
28 David Guttenp;lan, AG Edwards/Nalley
29 Devon Vigus (USA) UCI Continental Team
30 Greg Henderson (USA) HealthNet
31 Michael Sayers (USA) Health Net
32 Kirk Albers (USA) Jelly Belly PoolGel
33 James Taylor (USA)
34 Glen Mitchell (USA) Kodak Gallery-Sierra Nevada
35 Scott Edge (USA) Outdoor
36 Phillip Wikoff (USA) Cane Creek

Pro Women

1 Shannon Hutchinson (USA) L5Flyers
2 Lauren Franges (USA) Victory Brewing
3 Sarah Uhl (USA) Quark
4 Sarah Tillotson (USA) ABD Cycling
5 Kellly Benjamin (USA) The Bicycle Store
6 Grace Fleury (USA) Quark
7 Helen Kelly (Aus) Quark
8 Sarah Bamberger (USA) Touchtone Climbing
9 Kathleen Billington (USA) Diet Cheerwine
10 Nancy Lux (USA) BMW Bianchi
11 Patty Shoaf (USA) BMW -Bianchi
12 Megan Esmonde (USA) Quark
13 Katharine Carroll (USA) BMW Bianchi
14 Candince Blicken (USA) Quark
15 Lauren Bowles (USA) Diet Cheerwine
16 Shawn Heidgen (USA) TDS
17 Rebecca Larson (USA) Colavita/Cooking Light
18 Allison Carter (USA) Team kenda
19 Mandy Lozano (USA) BMW-Bianchi
20 Sherri Stedje (USA) Bicycle Store
21 Laura Downey (USA) America's Dairyland
22 Catherine Powers (USA) TDS
23 Leigh Velletti (USA) Travelgirl
24 Tammy Sadle (USA) HPC. LIST. Cardinal
25 May-Britt Hartwell (USA) DietCheerwine
26 Brenda Lyons (USA) Velo Bella
27 Kim Sawyer (USA) Travelgirl
28 Brooke O'Connor (USA) Hub Racing
29 Ann Bell (USA) Forum Cycling
30 Trudy Van Der Straaten (USA) Team Kenda Tire
31 Dani Dembrak (USA) Defeet
32 Kirsten Robbins (USA) Victory Brewing
33 Lee Anne Asbury (USA) Forum Cycling
34 Heidi Goldberg (USA) HPC/List/Cardinal
35 Clara Beard (USA) Diet Cheerwine
36 Deborah elliott (USA) DeFeet
37 Sarah LeGrand (USA) Diet Cheerwine
38 Sarah Moore (USA) Diet Cheerwine

5km Time Trial

1 Karl Menzies (Advantage Benefit Endeavor)    
2 Kevin Attkisson (Texas Roadhouse)            
3 Curtis Gunn (Team Seasilver)                 
Final starters
Wes Hartman (Advantage Benefit Endeavor)
Evan Elken (Jittery Joe's-Kalahari)
Curtis Gunn (Team Seasilver)
Scott Zwyzanski (Kodak-Sierra Nevada)
Karl Menzies (Advantage Benefit Endeavor)
Cleve Blackwell (Georgia Velo)
Kevin Attkisson (Texas Roadhouse)
Jonny Sundt (Jittery Joe's-Kalahari)

Past winners

2004 Brice Jones (USA) Health Net
2003 Dan Schmatz (USA) 7UP-Maxxis
2002 Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury
2000 Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury
2004 Tina Mayolo-Pic (USA) Genesis Scuba
2003 Candice Blickem (Genesis Scuba-FFCC)
2002 Ina Teutenberg (Ger) Saturn
2000 Sarah Ulmer (NZl) Elita