Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

13th Trofeo Melinda - 1.2

Italy, September 2, 2004

2003 Results    Results    Past winners

Rebellin the rebel

Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner)
Photo ©: Sirotti
Click for larger image

In yet another show of defiance to the Italian selectors (not that he needed it), Davide Rebellin has won the 13th edition of the Trofeo Melinda. In an uphill sprint in Fondo, Rebellin beat Panaria's Paolo Tiralongo and Fassa Bortolo's Dario Frigo, with most of the top 20 riders coming in separately.

After enjoying his best ever season, Rebellin has decided to race for Argentina in the World Championships in Verona in October, as the Italians won't select him. The 33 year old World Cup leader showed that he will probably be a force to be reckoned with in Verona by improving on his two lower podium places in the last two years to finally mount the top step.

After a promising attack by Emanuele Sella (Panaria) was chased down in the final 31.3 km circuit, a group of six riders managed to escape, containing Rebellin, Tiralongo, Frigo, Leonardo Bertagnolli (Saeco), Luca Mazzanti (Panaria) and Filippo Simeoni (Domina Vacanze). Rebellin proved to be the best on the finishing climb, and had plenty of time to raise his arm in victory as he crossed for the win.


Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Results - 194 km

1 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner                         5.01.00 (38.67 km/h)
2 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria - Margres             0.01
3 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                               0.03
4 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffè           0.15
5 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria - Margres               0.21
6 Massimo Giunti (Ita) Domina Vacanze                           0.32
7 Ruggero Borghi (Ita) De Nardi                                     
8 Filippo Simeoni (Ita) Domina Vacanze                          0.35
9 Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola - Nobili Rubinetterie     
10 Cyril Dessel (Fra) Phonak Hearing Systems                    0.40
11 Sergio Barbero (Ita) Lampre                                  0.41
12 Jure Golcer (Slo) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiavè                     0.50
13 Przemyslaw Niemec (Pol) Miche                                    
14 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Vini Caldirola - Nobili Rubinetterie     0.57
15 Gianluca Tonetti (Ita) Tenax                                 1.01
16 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone - Caffè Mokambo       1.02
17 Marco Fertonani (Ita) Phonak Hearing Systems                 1.03
18 Leonardo Giordani (Ita) De Nardi                             1.05
19 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria - Margres             2.00
20 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Tenax                                  4.02
21 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffè                   
22 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Lampre                                   
23 Massimo Codol (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                            4.04
24 Juan Gomis Lopez (Spa) Saunier Duval - Prodir                    
25 Johann Tschopp (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems                      
26 Francesco Failli (Ita) Domina Vacanze                            
27 Daniel Schnider (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems                     
28 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Spa) Saunier Duval - Prodir                
29 Maurizio Varini (Ita) Miche                                      
30 Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Team Barloworld - Androni Giocattoli    
31 Darren Lill (Rsa) Team Barloworld - Androni Giocattoli           
32 Giancarlo Ginestri (Ita) Tenax                                   
33 Volodimyr Duma (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet - Colnago               5.01
34 Marcello Strauss (Swi) Geroldsteiner                         6.02
35 Scott Davis (Aus) Ceramiche Panaria - Margres                    

Starters: 132
Classified: 35

Past winners

2003 Francesco Casagrande (Ita) Lampre
2002 Laurent Dufaux (Swi) Alessio 
2001 Francesco Casagrande (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
2000 Gorazd Stangelj (Slo) Liquigas-Pata
1999 Mauro Gianetti (Swi) Vini Caldirola 
1998 Rodolfo Ongarato (Ita) Ballan
1997 Michele Bartoli (Ita)
1996 Andrea Tafi (Ita)
1995 Pascal Richard (Swi)
1994 Massimo Podenzana (Ita) 
1993 Stefano Della-Santa (Ita)
1992 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,