Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

49th Lincoln International GP - 1.5

Great Britain, May 9, 2004

2003 Results   Results    Past winners

O'Loughlin wins Lincoln GP

By Shane Stokes,

David O'Loughlin today highlighted his excellent form when he became the first Irish winner of the Lincoln Grand Prix in England. The success marks the second 1.5 ranked victory for the rider in two weeks, O'Loughlin having won the Shay Elliott Memorial last month.

The Mayo rider reached the line at the end of the tough 165 kilometre race ten seconds clear of breakaway companion Rob Sharman, who he dropped on the cobbled climb to the finish, and a further five ahead of former top European professional Malcolm Elliott.

Today's win further advances O'Loughlin's bid for a place on the two-man Olympic squad for the men's road race this August. It also marks him out as one of the strong contenders for the FBD Milk Rás later this month.

"In the early stage of the race there were about ten of us away, we were clear for about two and a half hours," he reported. "A big group got across to us then to increase the numbers up front to about thirty or forty. I attacked out of this group and got a smaller move clear and then went again with about four laps to go."

O'Loughlin raced towards the finish with Sharman and Canadian rider Cory Lange (Marco Polo CC), the trio maintaining a lead of around a minute over those chasing behind. O'Loughlin put the pressure on again with two laps of the tough finishing circuit remaining, shedding Lange.

"We had 40 to 45 seconds on an eight man chasing group on the last lap," he continued. "I think this group split in half with David McCann taking sixth in the end. On the final climb to the line the two of us were together. I put the hammer down and got a gap on Sharman - it was wet and with the cobbles, it was pretty slippery. But I felt strong.

"I'm pleased with this and my Shay Elliott victory. I put a lot of work in at the start of the year but was getting a bit worried that it wasn't producing results. But things are going well now. That brings my UCI points total for the year up to 30 points, it should move me right into the frame for the Olympics. Mark Scanlon seems to have the first place sewn up but I'm up there in the fight for the second place."

Results - 165 km

1 David O'Loughlin (Irl) Total Cycling        3.57.26 (41.65 km/h)
2 Robin Sharman (GBr)            0.10
3 Malcolm Elliott (GBr) Pinarello RT             0.15
4 Cory Lange (Can) Marco Polo CC                 0.21
5 Warrick Spence (GBr) London Dynamo             0.24
6 David McCann (Irl) Phoenix CC                  0.33
7 Anthony Malarczyk (GBr) Welsh Cycling Union    0.40
8 Cody Stevenson (Aus)           0.48
9 Matthew Stephens (GBr) Sigma Sport             1.03
10 Eddy Hilger (USA) Marco Polo CC               1.06
11 Phillip Thuaux (Aus)          1.29
12 Evan Oliphant (GBr) Team Velo Ecosse          1.33
13 Robin Reid (NZl) Marco Polo CC                1.39
14 Tjarco Cuppens (Ned) Team Comnet-Senges           
15 Mike Jones (GBr) Pinarello RT                 1.40
16 Lionel Syne (Bel) Marco Polo CC               1.41
17 Dominique Perras (Can) Canada                 1.42
18 Andrew Roche (Irl) Team Maestro               1.44
19 Stuart Dangerfield (GBr) Science In Sport     1.46
20 Ivor Bruin (Ned) BRC Kennermerland            1.53
21 Shaun Snodden (GBr)           1.55
22 Martin Ford (GBr) Race Scene RT               1.56
23 Mark Wordsworth (GBr) Doncaster Wheelers      1.59
24 Steven Higgins (GBr) Je James RT              2.02
25 Gareth Hewitt (GBr) Je James RT               2.06
26 Ben Robson (NZl) Marco Polo CC                2.09
27 Jeremy Venell (NZl) BRC Kennermerland         2.17
28 Hamish Haynes (GBr)           2.39
29 Adam Weaver (GBr) Doncaster Wheelers          4.52
30 Richard Wilkinson (GBr) Angliasport RT        6.20
31 Kevin Dawson (GBr) Planet X RT                6.26
32 John Bap Beraud (Fra) France                  6.28
33 Alastair Kay (GBr) York Cycleworks            6.31
34 Raymond Rol (Ned) BRC Kennermerland           6.43
35 Tim Dunford (GBr) Hargroves Cycles            6.56
36 Peter Sadler (GBr) Science In Sport           7.29
37 John Veness (GBr) Evans Crt                   8.02
38 Duncan Urqhart (GBr) Prestige VC                  
39 Tom Southam (GBr) Great Britain U2                
40 Rob Enslin (GBr) Prestige VC                      
41 Neil Coleman (GBr) Alcan-Bianchi                  
42 Chris Dargaisse (Fra) France                      
43 Bruce Edgar (GBr) Team Persil                 8.39
44 Ed Clancy (GBr) Great Britain U2                  
45 Matth Brammeier (GBr) Great Britain U2            
46 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Persil                  
47 Dan Fleeman (GBr) Team Lichfield                  
48 Scott Gamble (GBr) Ashfield Rc                    
49 Simon Henley (GBr) Team Milton Keyn               
50 Dave Coulson (GBr) Je James RT                    
51 Stephan Wolfer (Ger) Team Bradgate                
52 George Robinson (GBr) Regal Race Team             
53 Julian Grommett (GBr) Cottingham Crs              
54 Matthew Larner (GBr) Team Lichfield               
55 Andrew Stuart (GBr) Ashfield Rc                   
56 Tom Barras (GBr)                  
57 Hugo Gootges (Ned) BRC Kennermerland              
58 Nadir Haddou (Fra) France                         
59 Roger Morgan (GBr) Parrot Print Tal               
60 Michae Merralls (GBr) Angliasport RT              

Past winners

2003 Mark Lovatt (GBr) Life Repair Cycle Race Team  
2002 Huw Pritchard (GBr) AngliaSport
2001 John Tanner (GBr) Ribble/ProVision
2000 Chris Newton (GBr) Middridge CRT
1999 Saulius Ruskis (Ltu) Team Oktos - MBK
1998 Chris Lillywhite (GBr)
1997 John Tanner (GBr)
1996 Kevin Dawson (GBr)
1995 Mark Walsham (GBr)
1994 Chris Walker (GBr)
1993 Keith Reynolds (GBr)
1992 John Charlesworth (GBr)
1991 Paul Curran (GBr)
1990 Brian Smith (GBr)
1989 Mark Gornall (GBr)
1988 Paul Curran (GBr)
1987 Paul Curran (GBr)
1986 Paul Curran (GBr)
1985 Darryl Webster (GBr)
1984 Neil Martin (GBr)
1983 Malcolm Elliott (GBr)
1982 Mark Bell (GBr)
1981 Phil Thomas (GBr)
1980 Steve Joughin (GBr)
1979 Geoff Taylor (GBr)
1978 Steve Lawrence (GBr)
1977 Dave Cuming (GBr)
1976 Bill Nickson (GBr)
1975 Tony Gornall (GBr)
1974 Steve Heffernan (GBr)
1973 Dave Vose (GBr)
1972 Phil Edwards (GBr)
1971 Dave Allen (GBr)
1970 Tom Mullins (GBr)
1969 Pete Smith (GBr)
1968 Doug Dailey (GBr)
1967 Des Thompson (NZl)
1966 John Clarey (GBr)
1965 Arthur Durha (GBr)
1964 Albert Hitchen (GBr)
1963 Albert Hitchen (GBr)
1962 Jim Grieves (GBr)
1961 John Perks (GBr)
1960 John Perks (GBr)
1959 Ron Coe (GBr)
1958 Ron Coe (GBr)
1957 Ron Coe (GBr)
1956 Bob Eastwood (GBr)

Past winners courtesy of Mario Stiehl,