Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

British National Championships - CN

Newport, Wales, June 26-27, 2004

Untitled Document

Nationals results   National champions summary

Main Page    Results    Next Day

Day 1 - June 26: Elite Women's Road Race, 108.6 km

Nicole Cooke is back

Great Britain's Nicole Cooke is back from eight months out of competition, having won her fifth national title in the women's road race in Gwent on Saturday. Cooke had not raced all season, recovering from a knee injury and undergoing surgery just one month before the national championships.

"This means more to me than my other British titles because of the circumstances," Cooke commented on her website ( "I knew I was going well in training, but that's different to showing it a race, so I was pleased it went so well."

Cooke beat Rachael Heal and Vicki Pincombe to take the title in cold, rainy conditions, after the three attacked on the first lap and left the peloton behind.

"I've now got seven weeks to take it on to another level or two for the Olympics," she added.


1 Nicole Cooke (Safi-Pastazara)              3.13.33
2 Rachel Heal (Farm Frites/Hartol)              0.59
3 Vicky Pincombe (Team Milton Keynes)           6.43
4 Emma Davies ( X-Power)     13.30
5 Lorna Webb ( X-Power)      13.43
6 Emma Silversides (Leisure Lakes)             13.46
7 Wendy Houvenaghel (RAF CA)                   13.51
8 Sara Symington (SATS)
9 Michele Ward (Team Fisher)
10 Charlotte Goldsmith (Team Lucanio)
11 Nina Davies (Letchworth Velo)
12 Catherine Hare (Team Lucanio)
13 Nikki Harris (Pearce Cycles)
14 Leda Cox (AngliaSport)
15 Amy Hunt (Giant RT)
16 Tracy Clarke (High Wycombe)
17 Katrina Hair (Johnstone Wheelers )
18 Jeanette Tebbutt (Team Lucanio)
19 Michelle Bergstrand
20 Kelly Grant (Team Milton Keynes)
21 Kim Blythe (Team Lucanio)
22 Louise Amery (Bikin Motion)
23 Ruth Gamwell (GS Strada)
24 Tracy Purbeck (Letchworth Velo)
25 Rebecca Jones (WCU)
26 Helen Saunders (Team Bottechia)
27 Kirsten Brooks (Abergavenny)
28 Lisa Hollingshead (Webster Cycles)