Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

65th Paris-Camembert Lepetit - 1.2

France, April 13, 2004

2003 Results    Results    Past winners

Bouyer bounces back

Sarthe rematch turns the tables

By Chris Henry

Bouyer's revenge
Photo ©: AFP

Franck Bouyer (Brioches La Boulangère) earned his revenge over Thomas Lövkvist ( today in a rematch of last week's Circuit de la Sarthe. After the talented young Swede Lˆvkvist wrestled victory from Bouyer in a long solo break on the final Sarthe stage, Bouyer put his power and experience to work to return the favour on the tough Paris-Camembert parcours. The Frenchman found himself with Lövkvist for company after repeated attacks in the finale, before winning the two man sprint by several bike lengths.

Both riders displayed their talents during the course, but neither rider placed much stock in his sprint. Bouyer, however, craftily manoeuvred himself onto Lövkvist's wheel in the final kilometre, forcing the Swede to lead out the sprint before he powered around to take the victory.

"I often mess up the sprint, Bouyer admitted. "I stayed as long as possible on his wheel [in the finale] and this time it worked."

As for Lövkvist, a second place at Paris-Camembert following overall victory in the Circuit de la Sarthe made for a rather successful week for the first year professional.

"I'm a terrible sprinter," he said. "There was a headwind in the last kilometre and he stuck to my wheel, so there was nothing I could do."

The day began with an extended debate over the presence of the Oktos-Saint Quentin team, originally denied entry in the race because of team director Oleg Kozlitine's supposed involvement in the distribution of banned substances to ex-Cofidis professional Philippe Gaumont. After much discussion, Oktos was granted a start in Paris-Camembert, but on the condition that the team not start with Frank Pencolé, members of whose fan club had apparently written menacing letters to the race organisers and sponsors insisting on the team's start. A back and forth debate ultimately found the team in and Pencolé out, much to the rider's dismay.

Several breaks went clear throughout the course of the race, including a move of some ten men spearheaded by riders like Samuel Dumoulin, Sylvain Chavanel, and Philippe Gilbert. Latvian champion Andrus Nauduzs was also on the attack, stretch his sprinters' legs over the first half of the Camembert course. As the race hit the first climbs, Nauduzs tried to carry on a solo move, but as the rain began to fall and the favourites came to the four, his chances began to fade.

Bouyer was the first to begin the hostilities from the chase group, attacking on the climb with Sandy Casar ( in pursuit. Bouyer's teammate Jérôme Pineau bridged to the move quickly and the three caught and dropped Nauduzs, who began to feel the weight of the climb. With just under 20 kilometres to race, Pineau too began to crack, leaving just Casar and Bouyer to set off together.

The podium
Photo ©: AFP

As the finishing kilometres ticked by, Bouyer and Casar were reeled in by the fast-moving chase as Casar tried in vain to force the pace on the day's final climb. Caught by the pursuing riders, Bouyer decided to attack again, first struggling with a ten metre gap on the steepest portion of the final ascent, then launching himself again over the top and through the beginning of the descent. Lövkvist was the only man able to bridge the gap, and the two set off on a pursuit match against a less organised chase group trailing just 20 seconds back.

Lacking coordination, the chase was unable to rally its collective strength to bring back the winning move, and Bouyer handily put his experience relative to Lövkvist to good use, playing the sprint exactly how he wanted. With his win, Bouyer moves into third place in the Coupe de France standings, behind Thor Hushovd and Anthony Geslin.


Images by AFP/Robert François


1 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Brioches La Boulangère     4.29.19
2 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe)                  0.01
3 Johan Coenem (Bel) Mr. Bookmaker-Palmans          0.20
4 Sandy Casar (Fra)
5 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Brioches La Boulangère
6 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Crédit Agricole
7 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Ag2r-Prévoyance
8 Alexandre Bazhenov (Rus) Domina Vacanze           0.28
9 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Crédit Agricole            1.11
10 Frédéric Finot (Fra) RAGT Semences-MG Rover
11 Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
12 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Brioches La Boulangère
13 Gilles Bouvard (Fra) RAGT Semences-MG Rover
14 Philippe Gilbert (Bel)
15 Martin Derganc (Slo) Domina Vacanze
16 Walter Beneteau (Fra) Brioches La Boulangère
17 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Crédit Agricole
18 Nicolas Fritsch (Fra)
19 Francesco Failli (Ita) Domina Vacanze
20 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prévoyance
21 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Crédit Agricole
22 Eddy Lembo (Fra) Mr. Bookmaker-Palmans           1.14
23 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Auber 93
24 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Brioches La Boulangère       1.20
25 Lénaïc Olivier (Fra) Auber 93                    2.41
26 Jérémy Roy (Fra)
27 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) Ag2r-Prévoyance
28 Tristan Valentin (Fra) Auber 93
29 Lubor Tesar (Cze) eD'system-ZVVZ 
30 Pierre Bourquenoud (Sui) RAGT Semences-MG Rover
31 Eric Berthou (Fra) RAGT Semences-MG Rover        2.45
32 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) Ag2r-Prévoyance             4.56
33 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra)
34 Iñigo Chaurreau (Esp) Ag2r-Prévoyance            7.20
35 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Crédit Agricole             7.21
36 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Crédit Agricole
37 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra) Mr. Bookmaker-Palmans
38 David Bréard (Fra) Auber 93

Past winners

Paris-Camembert (Trophée Lepetit)

2003  Laurent Brochard (Fra) Ag2r-Prévoyance
2002  Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) Team fakta
2001  Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour
2000  Didier Rous (Fra)
1999  Fabio Fontanelli (Ita)
1998  Pascal Lino (Fra)
1997  Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
1996  Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1995  Andrej Tchmil (Mol)
1994  Armand De las Cuevas (Fra)
1993  Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz)
1992  Patrice Esnault (Fra)
1991  Brian Holm (Den)
1990  Thierry Marie (Fra)
1989  Andreas Kappes (Ger)
1988  Laurent Fignon (Fra)
1987  Mathieu Hermans (Ned)
1986  Kim Andersen (Den)
1985  Martial Gayant (Fra)
1984  Hubert Linard (Fra)
1983  Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1982  Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1981  Guy Gallopin (Fra)
1980  Pierre-Raymond Villemiane (Fra)
1979  Raymond Martin (Fra)
1978  Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1977  Hubert Linard (Fra)
1976  Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1975  Raymond Martin (Fra)
1974  Alain Santy (Fra)
1973  Regis Delephin (Fra)
1972  José Catieau (Fra)
1971  Gerard Moneyron (Fra)
1970  Georges Chappe (Fra)
1969  Raymond Riotte (Fra)
1968  Harry Stevens (Ned)
1967  Georges Chappe (Fra)
1966  Desire Letort (Fra)
1965  Pierre Everaert (Fra)
1964  Arie Den Hertog (Ned)
1963  Jacques Simon (Fra)
1962  Piet Rentmeester (Ned)
1961  Jean-Claude Annaert (Fra)
1960  Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1959  Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1958  Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1957  Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1956  René Fournier (Fra)
1955  Jean-Marie Cieleska (Fra)
1954  Gilbert Bauvin (Fra)
1953  Jean Gueguen (Fra)
1952  Robert Varnajo (Fra)
1951  Jean Baldassari (Fra)
1950  Ange Le Strat (Fra)
1949  Jean Rey (Fra)
1948  Raoul Remy (Fra)
1947  Robert Dorgebray (Fra)
1946  Paul Neri (Ita)
1944  Maurice De Muer (Fra)
1943  Victor Cosson (Fra)

Paris-Vimoutiers, 1906-1942

1942  Joseph Goutourbe (Fra)
1939  Pierre Cloarec (Fra)
1938  Jean-Marie Goasmat (Fra)
1937  André Auville (Fra)
1936  Yvon Marie (Fra)
1935  Marcel Bat (Fra)
1934  Louis Thietard (Fra)
1906  Mary (Fra)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,