Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

18th Route Adélie - 1.3

Vitré, France, April 2, 2004

2003 Results    Results    Past winners

Geslin takes pressure off La Boulangère

By Jean-François Quénet in Vitré

Anthony Geslin (La Boulangere)
Photo ©: Georges Mesnager

Since Jean-René Bernaudeau created the Bonjour team, now called La Boulangère, he never experienced such a poor start to the season, with only one win - by Jérôme Pineau in Costa de Almeria - in two months. Was it the Beloki effect? The balance of the team has been completely transformed with the addition of the Spaniard, but his comeback at the Criterium International last week end may have brought the confidence back into the squad. At least Anthony Geslin has boosted the morale with a well deserved win.

2nd in the GP Ouest-France (H.C.) last year, Geslin was still chasing his first big pro win. "I had a consistent season including the Tour de France but I was missing the joy of winning, he declared after crossing the line. This year, I felt good since Milan-San Remo. Now this victory takes some pressure off." It's a relief for La Boulangère since their arch rivals from have scored eight wins so far.

There was another very hungry French rider in the breakaway: Franck Pencolé of Oktos. He's the man who created the decisive move with 40km to go. "I wanted revenge because our team has been kicked out of Paris-Camembert, my 'home' race," he said. Oktos isn't welcome anymore in some French races because of their directeur sportif Oleg Kozlitine being involved in the Gaumont affair.

When Pencolé attacked, Andrei Kashechkin of Crédit Agricole was the only rider from the early 13 man breakaway left in front. The new group of seven also included Sergio Marinangeli (Domina Vacanze), Pierrick Fedrigo (Crédit Agricole), Anthony Geslin (La Boulangère), Christophe Edaleine (Cofidis) and Alessandro Bertolini (Alessio-Bianchi). Edaleine was the first to be dropped with 12km to go, then Kashechkin with 5 km to go after sacrificing himself for Fedrigo.

"I was very pleased to see that we had a few riders in all the moves today," Credit Agricole director Denis Roux explained. Roux came on stage to receive the French cup leader's sign in the name of Thor Hushovd, who now focuses on Tour of Flanders, Gent-Wevelgem and Paris-Roubaix, before returning to the French national circuit at the GP Denain (April 15th).

Bertolini attacked within the last kilometre and it was another Italian, Marinangeli, who chased him down. "This sprint started from so long out," Marinangeli described. "I was forced to work and a few guys passed me after catching Bertolini. Then I overtook all of them except from the winner."

Geslin was smart to sit on Fedrigo's wheel until 200 metres to go. Both Geslin and Marinangeli are fast up and coming riders, aged only 23. Marinangeli is only starting his career, since he hardly competed last year, taking part in only seven races at the end of the season. In February in Malaysia, he broke his hip in a sprint in Butterworth where stage 1 of Le Tour de Langkawi finished. He had to stay in hospital for a while and was assisted by the riders association president Francesco Moser, who was visiting the event. "I'll never thank Moser enough for what he did for me", Marinangeli said.

It looks like the Domina Vacanze rider is close to a win.


Images by Georges Mesnager

Images by Melanie Leveau/

Images by


1 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère           4.21.25
2 Sergio Marinangeli (Ita) Domina Vacanze                      
3 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Crédit Agricole                       
4 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Alessio-Bianchi                   
5 Franck Pencole (Fra) Oktos-Saint Quentin                 0.08
6 Kurt Van De Wouwer (Bel)         0.18
7 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Crédit Agricole                  0.24
8 Igor Abakoumov (Bel) Chocolade Jacques-Wincor Nixdorf    1.06
9 Björn Leukemans (Bel)                
10 Sandy Casar (Fra)                            1.08
11 Lenaic Olivier (Fra) Auber 93 
12 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra) RAGT
13 Franck Bouyer (Fra) La Boulangère
14 Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
15 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Ag2r
16 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Auber 93
17 Andre Noè (Ita) Alessio
18 Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Auber 93 
19 Cédric Coutouly (Fra) French national team              1.12
20 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Domina Vacanze
21 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Crédit Agricole
22 Christophe Rinero (Fra) RAGT
23 Martin Derganc (Slo) Domina Vacanze
24 Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Cofidis
25 Thomas Lövkvist (Swe)
26 Laurent Paumier (Fra) Auber 93
27 Didier Rous (Fra) La Boulangère
28 Jan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r                                 1.14
29 Paolo Valoti (Ita) Domina Vacanze
30 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Crédit Agricole               1.16
31 Antonio Salomone (Ita) Team Barloworld
32 David Moncoutié (Fra) Cofidis
33 Claus Michael Möller (Dk) Alessio
34 Kirk O’Bee (USA) Navigators
35 Tiaan Kannemeyer (RSA) Team Barloworld
36 Sylvain Calzati (Fra) Oktos
37 Kyrylo Pospeyev (Ukr) Acqua e Sapone                    1.27
38 Walter Bénéteau (Fra) La Boulangère                     1.35
39 Guillaume Auger (Fra) RAGT                              
40 Maxim Gourov (Kaz) Oktos
41 Jean-Michel Tessier (Fra) Oktos
42 John Nilsson (Swe) Auber 93
43 Andrei Mizourov (Kaz) Oktos
44 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) Cofidis
45 David Bréard (Fra) Auber 93
46 Loïc Lamouller (Fra) Auber 93
47 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra) MrBookmaker
48 Chris Baldwin (USA) Navigators
49 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Team Barloworld
50 John Gadret (Fra) Chocolate Jacques
51 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) Ag2r
52 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra)
53 Maryan Hary (Fra) La Boulangère
54 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Acqua e Sapone
55 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) Ag2r                               3.02
56 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Ag2r                              3.05
57 Francesco Failli (Fra) Domina Vacanze                   4.39
58 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r                         5.25
59 Benoît Salmon (Fra) Crédit Agricole
60 Hubert Dupont (Fra) French national team                6.55
61 Fabien Sanchez (Fra)                         7.18
62 Sébastien Duret (Fra) French national team
63 Freddy Bichot (Fra)
64 Nicolas Portal (Fra) Ag2r                               8.06
65 Stéphane Bergès (Fra) Ag2r
66 Saulius Ruskys (Ltu) Oktos-Saint Quentin

Coupe de France standings

1 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole                        75 pts
2 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère               50
3 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Crédit Agricole                    37
4 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Cofidis, Le Crédit par Téléphone    35
4 Didier Rous (Fra) Brioches la Boulangère                  35
6 Franck Pencole (Fra) Oktos-Saint Quentin                  26
7 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Crédit Agricole                   25
8 Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Cofidis, Le Crédit par Téléphone     20
8 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Crédit Agricole                   20
10 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra)                        18
1 Credit Agricole                                           44 pts
2 La Boulangère                                             30
3 Auber 93                                                  21
4                                                20
5 Cofidis                                                   16

Past winners

Route Adélie

2003 Sébastien Joly (Fra) Jean Delatour
2002 Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) Team fakta
2001 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est)
2000 Laurent Brochard (Fra)
1999 Torsten Schmidt (Ger)
1998 Jann Kirsipuu (Est)
1997 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra)

Tour d'Armorique

1996 Marc Bouillon (Fra)
1994 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra)
1993 Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra)
1992 Peter De Clercq (Bel)
1991 Jérôme Simon (Fra)
1990 Rober-to Torres (Spa)
1989 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1988 Sören Lilholt (Den)
1987 Thierry Marie (Fra)
1986 Jörg Müller (Swi)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,