Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Irish criterium championships - CN

Cork, September 28, 2003


O'Sullivan wins Irish Criterium Championships

By Shane Stokes,

Stephen O'Sullivan followed up on his 2002 silver medal by taking a fine win in today's Irish national criterium championships in Cork. The Cycleways Lee Strand rider outsprinted Timmy Barry (Cidona Carrick Wheelers) in their two-up gallop to the line, having broken clear of the rest of the field in the closing stages of the hour-long race. Bronze went to Earl of Desmond rider Paul Griffin.

Former champion Paul Healion broke away in the early stages of the race and built up a good lead, with the speed behind causing the main bunch to split into three groups. The Usher IRC cyclist was hauled back, but shortly afterwards Barry jumped clear and rode strongly around the flat two kilometre Monaghan Road circuit to build a twelve second advantage. It looked for a time that Barry was on course for a fine win, but O'Sullivan jumped clear of the bunch and succeeded in bridging the gap. The two riders joined forces to preserve their lead over those chasing behind, before O'Sullivan got the edge on Barry in the finishing sprint.

The chasing group came home a further twelve seconds later with Paul Griffin outsprinting the impressive junior rider Barry Woods (Killorglin Credit Union), Healion and Mark Kiernan ( to take bronze.

'It was a very good race', said organiser John O'Mahony of the promoting St. Finbarr's club afterwards. 'We used the old Monaghan Road circuit which for years was home to the Examiner Cup. It is totally flat and has nicely curving bends which keep the speed high. It looked for a while that Timmy Barry was going to win, but Stephen O'Sullivan was very strong in getting across and then taking the sprint.'

'We were very happy with how the day went. Cork is the European City of Culture in 2005 and we are hoping to put on a very significant event for that. We would also like to revive the Examiner Cup and have had discussions with the local Gardaí and the Examiner newspaper about those plans.'


1 Stephen 0'Sullivan (Cycleways Lee Strand)
2 T. Barry (Cidona Carrick Wheelers) 
3 P. Griffin (Earl of Desmond)                  0.12
4 B. Woods (Killorglin Credit Union)
5 P. Healion (North Kildare CC)
6 M. Kiernan (
Under 12
1 Sean Doona (Killorglin Credit Union)
2 C. Corcoran (Killorglin CU)
3 D. Rice (Killorglin CU)
Under 14
1 Pat Ahern (Kanturk Credit Union)
2 A. O'Conor (Killorglin CU)
Under 16
1 Jeremiah O'Sullivan (Killorglin CU)
2 G. Browne (Kanturk CU)