Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Grand Prix Féminin International du Canada - 2.9.2

Canada, September 24-28, 2003

Main Page    Results    Next Stage

Prologue - September 24: Abitibi Consolidated ITT, 1.1 km

Bessette back in action

By Kristy Scrymgeour

Only a few weeks after breaking her collarbone, Lyne Bessette (Canadian National Team) is back on the bike and flying. Bessette won the 1.1km prologue today on a course that consisted of quite a few corners and required riders to get out of their saddles to kick out of the corners. Winning the prologue by one second over Tina Mayolo Pic (Genesis Scuba/FFCC) and Judith Arndt (German National Team), puts Bessette in the leaders jersey going into stage one of the five stage race.

Many National teams have arrived in Canada early for the World Championships and are using this race as preparation for the big event. Among the nations entering national teams are Australia, Beligium, Poland, Russia, Germany, Lithuania, The Ukraine and of course Canada who are off to a winning start.

Tomorrows stage in Roberval is 97.6km long with four 22.4km laps in the middle. Each lap climbs 200m in elevation before dropping back down again and riders will sprint for mountain points on lap one and three. On lap two and four there will be two flat sprints for the sprint jersey.


1 Lyne Bessette (Can) Canadian National Team              1.28
2 Tina Mayolo-Pic (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC                0.01
3 Judith Arndt (Ger) German National Team                     
4 Sandy Espeseth (Can) Canadian National Team             0.02
5 Julie Bélanger (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 2003               
6 Magalie Boulay (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 2003               
7 Kate Nichols (Aus) Australian National Team                 
8 Audrey Lemieux (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 2003               
9 Sharron Van Dromme (Bel) Belgian National Team              
10 Émilie Roy (Can) Équipe Québec                             
11 Jessica Ridder (Aus) Australian National Team          0.03
12 Madeleine Lindberg (Swe) Mixed Team                        
13 Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus) Russia National Team            
14 Ekaterina Naumova (Rus) Russia National Team               
15 Amy Moore (Can) Canadian National Team                     
16 Candice Blickem (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC                   
17 Theresa Senff (Ger) German National Team                   
18 Heidi Van De Vijver (Bel) Belgian National Team        0.04
19 Miho Oki (Jpn) Mixed Team                                  
20 Bogumila Matusiak (Pol) Polish National Team               
21 Evy Van Damme (Bel) Belgian National Team                  
22 Karen Bockel (Ger) German National Team                    
23 Isabella Wieser (Aut) Mixed Team                           
24 Milda Galdikaite (Ltu) Lithuania National Team             
25 Malgorzata Wysocka (Pol) Polish National Team              
26 Joanna Ignasiak (Pol) Polish National Team             0.05
27 Andrea Graus (Aut) Mixed Team                              
28 Corine Hierckens (Bel) Belgian National Team               
29 Paulina Brzezna (Pol) Polish National Team                 
30 Anna Sipurzynska (Pol) Polish National Team                
31 Candice Sullivan (Aus) Australian National Team            
32 Veronique Belleter (Bel) Belgian National Team             
33 Manon Jutras (Can) Canadian National Team                  
34 Anna Skawinska (Pol) Polish National Team                  
35 Iona Wynter (Jam) Genesis Scuba/FFCC                       
36 Christiane Soeder (Aut) Mixed Team                         
37 Iryna Shpilyova (Ukr) Ukraine National Team            0.06
38 Olga Zabelinskaia (Rus) Russia National Team               
39 Cristal Yap (USA) Proco Composite Team                     
40 Maggie Shirley (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC                    
41 Liza Rachetto (USA) Proco Composite Team               0.07
42 Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Lithuania National Team       
43 Valentyna Karpenko (Ukr) Ukraine National Team             
44 Mathilde Hupin (Can) Équipe Québec                     0.08
45 Tina Liebig (Ger) German National Team                     
46 Stéphanie Bourbeau (Can) Équipe Québec                     
47 Anna Milkowski (USA) Proco Composite Team              0.09
48 Julie Hutsebaut (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 2003             
49 Natalia Boyarskaya (Rus) Russia National Team              
50 Svetlana Pauliukaite (Ltu) Lithuania National Team         
51 Iryna Chuzhynova (Ukr) Ukraine National Team               
52 Regina Schleicher (Ger) German National Team               
53 Veerle Ingels (Bel) Belgian National Team                  
54 Hiroko Shimada (Jpn) Proco Composite Team              0.10
55 Stephanie Williams (Aus) Australian National Team          
56 Nataliya Kachalka (Ukr) Ukraine National Team              
57 Trixi Worrack (Ger) German National Team               0.11
58 Ioulia Martissova (Rus) Russia National Team               
59 Jolanta Polikeviciute (Ltu) Lithuania National Team    0.12
60 Erinne Willock (Can) Canadian National Team            0.13
61 Grace Fleury (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC                      
62 Natalya Figurskaya (Ukr) Ukraine National Team             
63 Rasa Polikeviciute (Ltu) Lithuania National Team       0.14
64 Élisa Gagnon (Can) Équipe Québec                       0.15
1 Canadian National Team                                  4.29
2 Équipe ACC Hamilton 2003                                0.01
3 German National Team                                    0.03
4 Genesis Scuba/FFCC                                      0.04
5 Australian National Team                                0.05
6 Belgian National team                                       
7 Mixed Team                                              0.06
8 Russia National Team                                    0.07
9 Polish National Team                                    0.08
10 Équipe Québec                                          0.13
11 Lithuania National Team                                0.15
12 Proco Composite Team                                   0.17
13 Ukraine National Team