Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

18th Firenze - Pistoia - 1.3

Italy, October 25, 2003

2002 Results    Results    Past winners

Peron wins Italian finale

Andrea Peron (CSC) about to set off
Photo ©: Sirotti

Andrea Peron (Team CSC) has won the final race on the Italian calendar for 2003, the 18th edition of the Firenze-Pistoia time trial. Peron averaged 49.36 km/h over the flat 33 kilometre course to beat Filippo Simeoni (Domina Vacanze) by 53 seconds and Dario Cioni (Fassa Bortolo) by 1'05. It was a rare victory for the Italian, who normally rides in the service of others.

The 22 rider field included past world time trial champion Serguei Gontchar (De Nardi), who fell one step short of the podium; Italian time trial champion Giampaolo Mondini (Domina Vacanze), who managed 9th at 2'48; and World road champion Igor Astarloa (Saeco) who displayed the rainbow colours once more this season to finish 12th. Francesco Casagrande (Lampre) also took part, but crashed halfway (without serious injury) and had to abandon.


Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Results - 33 km ITT

1 Andrea Peron (Ita) Team CSC                        40.06 (49.36 km/h)
2 Filippo Simeoni (Ita) Domina Vacanze-Elitron        0.53
3 Dario Cioni (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                     1.05
4 Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) De Nardi-Colpack             1.09
5 Stefano Zanini (Ita) Team Saeco                     2.35
6 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Vini Caldirola-SO.DI             2.37
7 Leonardo Scarselli (Ita) Colombia-Selle Italia      2.43
8 Anders Grönqvist (Swe) Amore e Vita
9 Gianpaolo Mondini (Ita) Domina Vacanze-Elitron      2.48
10 Ivan Basso (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                     2.49
12 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Team Saeco                     3.02
14 Tomas Grönqvist (Swe) Team fakta

Past winners

2002 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Team Coast  
2001 Nathan O'Neill (Aus)
1999 (2) Marco Velo
1998 Marco Velo (Ita)
1995 (2) Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
1994 Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
1993 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)
1992 (4) Tony Rominger (Swi)
1991 (3) Tony Rominger (Swi)
1990 (2) Lech Piasecki (Pol)
1989 (2) Tony Rominger (Swi)
1988 Tony Rominger (Swi)
1987 Helmut Wechselberger (Aut)
1986 Lech Piasecki (Pol)
1985 Rolf Gölz (Ger)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,