Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

22nd Chrono des Herbiers - 1.3/1.9.2/1.7.2/1.8

France, October 19, 2003

2002 Results    Results    Past winners

Rich's happy end

By Jean-Francois Quenet in Les Herbiers

The men's podium
Photo: © J-F Quenet
Click for larger image

For the second time in a row, Michael Rich has won the closing event of French professional cycling, the Chrono des Herbiers individual time trial, held in the Vendée region of France. It's a big victory for the Gerolsteiner rider who beat Bert Roesems (Palmans-Collstrop) by 32 seconds. If Sergei Gontchar hadn't ridden the Tour of Lombardy the day before and driven from Italy to the west of France, it could have been the same podium as in the GP des Nations last month, but Uwe Peschel took third place and Gerolsteiner rounded off a fantastic result with Sebastian Lang in fourth.

"When we came here and saw the start list, we couldn't imagine to repeat the podium of the German championship," Rich explained. "There were so many good specialists at this race. 1st, 3rd and 4th is definitely the best we could get. For me, it's always good to end up the season with a win."

Rich had a perfect race but was a bit worried before the start. "I've felt kind of sick for the last two days, he said. But on the bike I was OK. I was confident in winning because my trainer gave me good news all the time. I was the second fastest after the first split and I had an advantage of 14 seconds with 10km to go, after that I was still fast. But I've had to fight all the time because of the weather conditions."

Suddenly it started raining when the race began after almost 5 months of good weather in Les Herbiers. It was terrible for the cyclists to finish their season that way.

It's Rich's eighth win this year and it's a revenge taken after the world's where he finished fourth. "I felt so strong before going to Hamilton but the course wasn't good for me, too many hills and too long. After half way I knew I was only fighting for the silver medal because David Millar was too strong and it's frustrating when the goal is the win."

The women's 20.5 km even was won by Australian Margaret Hemsley, who beat World TT Champion Joane Somarriba (Bizkaia) by 44 seconds and the returning to form Australian Kathy Watt by 1'00.


Images by Jean-Francois Quenet


Men - 48.150 km

1 Michael Rich (Ger) Gerolsteiner           1.00.23
2 Bert Roesems (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop         0.32
3 Uwe Peschel (Ger) Gerolsteiner               1.07
4 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner            1.12
5 Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour            1.22
6 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hon) Quickstep               2.15
7 Raivis Belohovosciks (Lat) Marlux            2.31
8 Jean Nuttli (Swi) Volksbank                  2.34
9 Ben Day (Aus) Carvalhelos Boavista           2.48
10 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) Jean Delatour          3.10
11 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Lampre                  3.21
12 Sergei Honchar (Ukr) Colpack                3.27
13 Fabien Sanchez (Fra)             3.35
14 Tomas Vaitkus (Lit) Landbouwkrediet         3.48
15 Philippe Gilbert (Bel)           4.18
16 Franck Bouyer (Fra) La Boulangère           5.04
17 Florent Brard (Fra) Marlux                  5.29
18 Jacky Durand (Fra)               5.50
19 Jonathan Dayus (GB) Team Ringerike          6.16
20 Franck Renier (Fra) La Boulangère           6.44
21 Ivailo Gabrovski (Bul) Oktos                7.35
22 Tjarco Cuppens (Ned) Team Comnet            8.22

Women - 20.525 km

1 Margaret Hemsley (Aus) Nurnberger           29.15
2 Joane Somarriba (Spa) Bizkaia                0.44
3 Kathy Watt (Aus) Blackburn                   1.00
4 Zoulfia Zabirova (Rus) Guerciotti            1.34
5 Magali Finot (Fra) VS Nivernais-Morvan       2.12

Under 23 - 38.4 km

1 Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis                 51.15
2 Emilien-Benoit Bergès (Fra)    0.27
3 Jean Zen (Fra) Vendée U                      0.43
4 Tarmo Raudsepp (Est) Nantes 44 Cyclisme      1.03
5 Loic Vandel (Fra) Chambéry CF                1.08

Past winners



1 Michael Rich (Ger) Gerolsteiner
2 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Mapei-Quick Step Espoirs
3 Bert Roesems (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop


1 Jean Nuttli (Swi) Phonak Hearing Systems
2 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step
3 Sergey Gontchar (Ukr) Liquigas-Pata


1 Jean Nuttli (Swi) Phonak
2 Sergey Gontchar (Ukr) Liquigas
3 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step


1 Sergey Gontchar (Ukr)
2 Gilles Maignan (Fra)
3 Christophe Moreau (Fra)


1 Sergey Gontchar (Ukr)
2 Gilles Maignan (Fra)
3 Francisque Teyssier (Fra)


1 Sergey Gontchar (Ukr)
2 Tony Rominger (Swi)
3 Francoise Teyssier (Fra)


1 Chris Boardman (GB)
2 Laurent Brochard (Fra)
3 Neil Stephens (Aus)
1995 Pascal Lance (Fra)
1994 Pascal Lance (Fra)
1993 Chris Boardman (GBr)
1992 Arturas Kasputis (Ltu)
1991 Jan Karlsson (Swe)
1990 Jan Karlsson (Swe)
1989 Marco Jeletich (Ned)


2002 Zoulfia Zabirova (Rus) Usci Chirio 
2001 Edwige Pitel (Fra) AVC Aix
2000 Jeannie Longo (Fra)
1999 Zoulfia Zabirova (Rus)
1998 Zoulfia Zabirova (Rus)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,