Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Launceston to Ross Classic - NE

Tasmania, Australia, November 15, 2003


Jamieson out-powers the opposition

By Matt Conn

Mark Jamieson (TIS/Avanti/Cyclingnews)
Photo ©: Shane Goss

Mark Jamieson (TIS-Cyclingnews-Avanti) made a triumphant return from the Tour of Queensland to score an impressive victory in Saturday's Launceston to Ross race in Tasmania.

Jamieson, who finished second overall in the sprint competition in the Tour of Queensland, was one of 11 scratch riders from a field of 75 in what was actually the second running of the Tasmanian road classic this year.

The Ross race was held earlier in the year in its traditional spot on the Tasmanian Autumn/Winter road roster, but is now the first race of the new 2003/04 Summer Road Series that will continue through until May next year.

How it unfolded

With exceptionally strong Northerly winds on a bright sunny day, six bunches - with a limit mark of 16 minutes - departed Launceston for a 73km tail wind drag race.

With the only significant climbs in the race coming in the first 10km, there were early casualties in every group as the tail wind helped the fitter riders force the pace in the early season event.

Launceston's Roger Butorac
Photo ©: Shane Goss

As the back two bunches combined at the 25km mark, several scratch riders were caught at the back during a brief section of cross wind and were dropped from a group motoring above 55km/h. The wind was causing trouble for the D grade bunch and a touch of wheels caused a crash that brought down Launceston riders Roger Butorac and Andrew Loft.

Butorac, one of the state's top orthopedic surgeons, was able to self-diagnose a broken collarbone. He made a hasty return to Launceston for surgery to have a plate inserted, in the hope of still being able to compete in the up-coming triathlon World Championships.

By 20km to go the scratch riders had caught the last of the front markers, and almost immediately Nathan Clarke and Daniel Cutting (Derrico Cycles) attacked with Kharne Hammersley (Geards/Doherty Hotels) and Jamieson. A brief hesitation in the bunch was enough for the four to start to build a lead before the chase behind started in earnest.

The chasing pack
Photo ©: Shane Goss

Caleb Manion (TIS-Cyclingnews-Avanti) was the driving force of a small chase group that also included Belgian Danny In't Ven (Derrico Cycles), Paul Turner (Geards/ Doherty Hotels), Brad Clifford, Matt Conn (Cycle Torque/Trek) and Cameron Daniels. The seven-rider chase group was unable to make any significant headway on the leading four who were all working well and sharing the pace making equally, and by Campbell Town, at 10km to go, what was left of the main bunch had regrouped.

As the front group made the turn into Ross, a queue formed behind Jamieson in readiness for the sprint. The former world track champion was happy to lead out from 1km to go with the strong cross/tailwind and in the end no one else was strong enough to get past.

Clarke finished second with Cutting and Hammersley, both showing signs of excellent form, taking third and fourth respectively.

After strong riding by Manion, helped by Jason Andersch and Dale Woolston (Geards/Doherty Hotels), had reduced the chase group to just 10 riders, Matt Conn and Danny In't Ven led the chase home nearly a minute behind the leaders. Jamieson also claimed the fastest time of the day from Clarke, completing the 75km in 1:21:23.

The 18 year old heaped praise on the efforts of his fellow breakaway riders at the presentation and is more than satisfied with his form heading into next month's International Criterium in Launceston and the Traditional Christmas Carnival Series.


Images by Shane Goss/

Results, 73km

1 Mark Jamieson (TIS-Cyclingnews-Avanti)            1.21.23
2 Nathan Clarke (Derrico Cycles/Giant)
3 Daniel Cutting (Derrico Cycles/Giant)
4 Kharne Hammersley (Geards/Doherty Hotels)
5 Matt Conn (Cycle Torque/Trek)                        0.50
6 Danny In't Ven (Derrico Cycles) 
7 Cameron Daniel
8 Kaiden Homan
9 Paul Turner (Geards/Doherty Hotels)
10 Josh Wilson (LCCC)
11 Caleb Manion (TIS-Cyclingnews-Avanti)
12 Matt Rice (Geards/Doherty Hotels)
13 Dale Woolston (Geards/Doherty Hotels)
14 Wes Sulzberger (WTCC)
15 Michael Wilson (LCCC)
16 Brad Clifford        
17 Jason Andersch (Geards/Doherty Hotels)
18 Ryan Johnson (Motors)
19 Time Walker (WTCC)
20 Greg Nunn (El Presidente)
21 N Clarke
22 J Johnson
23 A Lee
24 S Ockerby
25 S Crosswell
26 S Rossendell
27 D Furmston
28 P Smith
29 L Venn
30 A Hartley
31 J Crawford
32 M Atkins
33 N Hingston
34 C Brown
35 M Sharp
36 J Findlay
37 J Lewarn
38 D Dennis
39 B Geale
40 D Oliver
41 N.Veale
42 L Yaxley    
43 A Loft
44 A Osbrough
45 B Goss 
46 S Jesney
47 B Price
48 M Goss
49 I Leighton
50 N Williams 
1 Michael Wilson (LCCC)  
2 Brad Clifford         
1 L Yaxley   
2 B Goss